Whole30 Preparation – 02/06/11

7 Feb

Yesterday, I spent the morning preparing my Whole30 eats for the week. The only way for me to be successful for the next 30 days and beyond was to actually prepare my lunch. This means, cooking as much food as possible on Sunday. Food that won’t spoil, and easy to heat up. I tend to get lazy at night, and not want to do anything!

I always go to different Paleo websites to get ideas on what to cook, but since NomNomPaleo recently did Whole30, I used most of her recipes for the this week’s preparation, and the first one was the Roasted Portobello Mushroom side dish. The was an easy recipe, and it tasted delicious! The only problem was I only had two mushrooms, so I had to stop by Trader Joe’s to get some more, and make enough for the week. Also, I was crying my eyes out cutting the shallots. The food processor that I have is too big for just mincing garlic and shallots, so I think I need to go invest in a smaller one.

Next up was Cauliflower Fried Rice. This dish is so easy to make, and I couldn’t stop picking at it once it was done. It was so good, and the secret to making it sort of taste like asian fried rice…Coconut Aminos.

Ingredients:

1 Cauliflower Head
Coconut Oil
Half a bag of Broccoli Slaw(Purchased from TJ’s)
1 tbsp of Coconut Aminos
Salt and Pepper
2 Eggs

Steps:

  • Cut up the cauliflower and put into a food processor
  • Pulse it until you get the consistency of rice, but be careful because the grains can get TOO small, and the consistency won’t be right.
  • Heat a skillet with Coconut Oil
  • Add the minced cauliflower and broccoli slaw. Feel free to add anything else such as mushrooms, spinach, etc
  • Mix the ingredients around, then add the Coconut Aminos.
  • Add a pinch of salt and pepper
  • Continue to stir for about 5 minutes, and you’ll see the broccoli slaw start to soften
  • Add the eggs, and let it the eggs sit there for less than a minute, and then start to mix it in with the cauliflower rice. You want the egg white and yolk to break apart
  • And there you go! You’ll have a dish that can go with anything! I made this as a side dish, but if you add sliced chicken, ground beef/pork, or even shrimp, you can make it as a main dish! YUM-O!

    I also prepped Monday night’s side dish which was the Braised Cabbage from NomNomPaleo. I only cooked it half way, because it was time for us to leave to watch the Super Bowl at a friend’s house (and for me to enjoy my last non-Paleo meal for awhile!). So it sat in the oven and braised for about an hour. I will finish the cabbage tonight, right before we eat dinner.

    The last thing was roasting my sweet potatoes. I just washed the sweet potatoes, stabbed my fork into it a few times, added some olive oil, and it sat in the oven for an hour at 400 degrees.

    Now my goal is to really cut down on the sugar cravings. Seriously cut down! But I think I’m going to start the first week off and allow myself to have some sweet potatoes, strawberries, and blueberries. Then I’ll see how I feel next week, and go from there.

    It felt great to get back into the kitchen and cook some wholesome meals again. I’ve been too lazy, and using my pregnancy as an excuse to not do anything. This is going to change today!!! Wish me luck!

    2 Responses to “Whole30 Preparation – 02/06/11”

    Trackbacks/Pingbacks

    1. Whole30 – Day 14(Preparation for week3): The sun is out!!! « Ramblings of a Crossfit Mom - February 21, 2011

      [...] prepared. That way I can spend more time with the little munchkin’. I was able to finish the Cauliflower Fried Rice and Garlic Mash. Super easy! I decided to do the mayo and tuna salad later on in the day, but [...]

    2. Whole30 – Day 20(Food Prep Day) « Ramblings of a Crossfit Mom - February 27, 2011

      [...] thing I made was some Cauliflower fried rice. Yup, I’ve made this every single week, and I can’t get enough of it. I might switch it [...]

    Leave a Reply

        Follow

    Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

    Join 85 other followers

