sle – Thu Mar 12 2009 – Lemon Bluberry Muffins

12 Mar

Yesterday was a complete rest day from exercise and eating healthy.  I was just out of it, and needed an escape.  BLEH!  This time change is not working well for me either.  I wanted to get up early to do Helen and yesterday's WOD, but I couldn't.  I will be doing them at lunch…HOPEFULLY!!

oh, so yesterday i experimented with coconut flour.  i made lemon blueberry muffins.  it's all natural ingredients.  pretty moist, but the muffins are tiny.  i need to double the batch next time, to get fuller muffins.  Coconut flour is just grinded coconut.  It is low on the glycemic index, and has tons of fiber, so yes it's healthy and not a refined carb!!  There isn't a major coconut taste to the muffin.  People like to use coconut flour because they have allergies to flour which has been processed.  People who are trying to eat gluten free products will like this.  I like it because I can have my "cake" and eat it too.  Of course, with moderation!  Here is the recipe:
¼ cup coconut flour
¼ teaspoon celtic sea salt
¼ teaspoon baking soda
3 eggs
¼ cup agave nectar
¼ cup grapeseed oil
1 tablespoon lemon zest (I put extra zest, and 1 whole lemon juice)
1 tablespoon poppy seeds (I didn't have poppy seeds, so I folded blueberries into it)

7:00 – a plum, and decaf nonfat capuccino
8:00 – sweet potato fritter
10:00 cantaloupe, apple, and half an orange
i've decided not to workout for the rest of the week.  bleh i know.  i'll pick it up on saturday.  i'm just pooped and don't feel like stressing about not working out when i've scheduled myself to.

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

Leave a Reply

