Chuc Mung Nam Moi – Happy New Year!

3 Feb

Happy Year of the Rabbit/Cat, depending whether you are Chinese or Vietnamese. Tet is normally celebrated based on the Lunar Calendar and even though the year of the rabbit comes every 12 years, your REAL year comes every 60 years, depending on whether that year was water, wood, fire, or metal. I learned this last night from Tran’s mom. Looks like watermelon will be the exact same year as my mother-in-law.

Okay, let’s switch gears! I can’t wait for Monday. This is when I really start Whole30. I realized last night that I’ll be going from Feb 7th – March 8th, and March 5th is when our Whole9 seminar is happening. I’m glad the seminar is at the tail end of my Whole30. I’m hoping it will motivate me to stay on track, and teach me how to control my cravings and not give in to temptation so often. I can’t have a whole cheat day. I need to learn how to have a cheat snack, and immediately go back to my healthy normal eating ways!

Yesterday at CFPA, we worked on deadlifts. I remember Jan saying that she was doing deadlifts wrong, and Kara Yessie from Catalyst told her to put her butt down a bit. I tried to remember this, along with what Tim was teaching us, which was to align our spine. This means, do not keep the chin up in your starting position. Tuck the chin in and look towards the ground. In the end, I had a good session, and PR’d on my 3 rep set.

123#(5)-153#(5)-183#(3)-203#(3)-223#(3)

Metcon: EEEEhhhh, sometimes I wish I could have a baby without my body changing so much! Just 2 or 3 weeks ago, I was able to do pistols, and now it was much harder! I couldn’t stay on my heel most of the time.

AMRAP for 12 minutes

  • 6 pistols
  • 9 pull ups
  • 12 KB Swings 16kg
  • Total: 6 + 22 reps

    Again, the pull ups were what slowed me down, but I’m definitely glad we did KB swings. We haven’t done them in awhile, and I don’t want to lose my strength using the 16kg bell or the 24kg. With the latter, I think I will have to just practice a little more after I give birth. All in all, it was a good workout, and great to see more people at the 5AM class.

    Leave a Reply

