Homemade Mayo and Tuna Salad

20 Feb

Tuna sandwiches used to be a big part of my everyday life. In grade school, my mom would always make me tuna sandwiches for lunch. She would also make tuna sandwiches for us whenever we took a day trip to the beach. It’s so good with a warm sourdough baguette! I never like store bought tuna salad either because they would put too much mayo, so it tasted too creamy. I’ve had a few tuna sandwiches within the years, especially when I was pregnant with little munchkin’ and now pregnant with watermelon. It was a craving I had! I had it on a dutch crunch roll too…mmMMMMmmmm! Going paleo, it’s hard to find a creamy like sauce to make a good tuna salad, but little did I know mayo was so easy(or could be very hard) to make at home with such few ingredients.

I was happy to see an easy recipe in Mark Sisson’s, The Primal Blueprint Cookbook. If you don’t have it, I suggest you get it! Lots of great ideas. It’s the only Paleo/Primal cookbook I own, but I love it.

Anyways, I made the mayo once before, and the consistency turned out good. But when I saw how The Clothes Make the Girl make her mayo, I thought I could do that. It looked so rich and creamy, with similar ingredients to Mark’s. BTW, I’ve been following these blogs for almost 2 years, and let’s just say they put out a lot of great info. If you don’t have them on your daily read list, add it now. Melissa usually comments on the Whole30 forums, and has some great tips and tricks to getting through Whole30 or even Whole70!

I let my egg sit out since 5AM this morning, and Melissa states that the egg definitely needs to be at room temperature. I got the lemons at the farmer’s market today, and it still seemed a bit cold, but I wasn’t patient enough and decided to work on the mayo anyways. Here’s what I put it(it’s a mixture of Mark’s recipe and Melissa’s)

1 cup of olive oil
1 tsp salt
1 egg
1 lemon juice
1 tsp of dijon mustard(I used Trader Joe’s)
Paprika for taste
2 cans of tuna with olive oil


I combined all ingredients together, but left about 3/4 cup of olive oil for blending. I used an emersion blender at first to mix everything together, but it didn’t seem to be working right, and the blender was getting really hot. So I poured the mixture into a bowl, and starting whisking the mayo to get it thicker. I slowly(very slowly) poured in the rest of the olive oil in, but I never got the consistency similar to Melissa’s Mayo. My hand was getting really tired too, LOL. I think I need to get a smaller whisk, because I can’t seem to control the whisk that I had. It was probably too big for my hands. Here’s the result:

Doesn’t look as creamy, but it definitely thickened up after I put it in the fridge. I decided to make Melissa’s Tuna Salad recipe as well, and had to make a special trip to Trader Joe’s because I didn’t have any tuna!!!! But you can use this mayo for anything…deviled eggs, egg salad, crab cake salad, etc.

It’s so good! I can’t wait to consume this for lunch tomorrow. The mayo will last for about a week. I hope I use it all because I want to try another batch and make it super creamy! Now only if I had a warm slice of sourdough baguette with it. Yum! Yes, I still have cravings for bread. 🙂

3 Responses to “Homemade Mayo and Tuna Salad”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Whole30 – Day 14(Preparation for week3): The sun is out!!! « Ramblings of a Crossfit Mom - February 21, 2011

    […] I was able to finish the Cauliflower Fried Rice and Garlic Mash. Super easy! I decided to do the mayo and tuna salad later on in the day, but let’s just say, it didn’t turn out that great, but still […]

  2. Whole30 – Day 21 « Ramblings of a Crossfit Mom - February 27, 2011

    […] the day to eat dinner. I woke up and got Mason ready, and was able to whip up a new batch of Homemade Mayo. I had such a hard time at the beginning trying to get the mixture to thicken up. I used a spoon […]

  3. Whole30 – Day 24: Hump Day Workout « Ramblings of a Crossfit Mom - March 3, 2011

    […] spinach with a hard boiled egg, carrots, celery, and half a fuiji apple. I mixed the crab with my homemade mayo! It was tasty! I also had some deviled eggs. For the afternoon snack, I had a primal pac. Geez, I […]

Leave a Reply

