Morning Wakeup Call – 500m row/400m run

21 Feb

This week at my box, we are doing the normal Crossfit WODs. These WODs usually take more than 20 minutes to do, and they are KILLER workouts. What did I wake up to this morning — Two metcon moves that I despise right now because I’m getting slower and slower at them as I get bigger and bigger! It’s a deadly combo!

5 RFT:

  • 500 m Row
  • 400 m Run
  • I knew I was going to come in last, no doubt about it. Without being fatigued, my row is around 2:10 for 500m(All out best was 1:59). Being fatigued, I can get down to 2:30. So, I hated the WOD, but just thought, I’m just going to get through it, and finish it. We have some fire-breathers in our class, and it’s awesome to witness how fast they were! Totally inspiring…I love it, because it just pushes me even more. Especially when the terminator was trying to pass me up for the second time. I knew he was coming up behind me, so I had to run faster. No way was I going to let him pass me up…AGAIN! LOL. The rows felt like it was taking forever, and I was giving up on form because I was getting fatigued. I just had to mentally push through(I tend to close my eyes when rowing because I don’t like to look at the monitor), and Tim reminded me to keep in control. It’s definitely all about form with the rower, and I think I’ll look up more drills to practice. Special thanks to Mint for running the last 400 with me. It definitely gave me strength to finish. 🙂 Once the WOD was over, I was gasping for air, but I was glad I made it through. I would even go as far to say that I enjoyed and “liked” the workout. Maybe I’ll even say, I can’t wait to do it again, so I can improve on my time. LOL.

    It was a great way to start a Monday. Oh ya…my time: 26:06.

    Leave a Reply

