Whole30 – Day 20(Food Prep Day)

27 Feb

I had to prep all sorts of food for the coming week on Saturday instead of Sunday because I had to go into work on Sunday. Also, I thought it was going to rain all day Saturday, but it turned out to be sunny…sunny BUT COLD! Anyways, my eats were good. I didn’t really eat dinner because I was full from snacking on the food I was making. And with all the cooking I did, I forgot to snap pics! Ugh! It sucks, because I made some yummy beef meatballs!

First thing I made was some Cauliflower fried rice. Yup, I’ve made this every single week, and I can’t get enough of it. I might switch it up next month, but this is great to have on hand, because I can’t say I DON’T have any veggies in my fridge. I usually split it up into four servings.

Next, I had two bell peppers just sitting in the refrigerator for about a week already, and I had to do something with it before it went bad. NomNom Paleo has a simple roasted bell pepper recipe that I mimicked. Super easy, and fast. While the bell peppers were roasting, I had some stuffed portobello mushrooms that I used to make with shallots, garlic, avocado oil, and balsamic vinaigrette. Another great easy go to recipe from NomNom Paleo.

My next project was to dice onions and make some grass fed meatballs with meat spaghetti sauce. I bought some Whole30 ingredient approved marinara sauce to make spaghetti for the hubby. I’m just going to use that sauce to pour onto the meatballs.

I couldn’t stop snacking’ on the meatballs, and eating up the meat sauce. It was YUMMY!

Finally, I had the daunting task of cutting up the flank steak I bought at Costco last week to make some beef jerky with. This time, I used the beef jerky recipe from Jen’s Gone Paleo. I really need a meat slicer. My hands are all cut up…OUCH! But I was able to marinate the jerky, and let it sit over night. Plopped it into the dehydrator today, and got a good batch of jerky. The flank steak I got was not grass fed, and had a lot of fat in it. Next time I gotta use a piece that is much leaner.

I used the Salt Like BBQ spice, and I added some Red Pepper Flakes to it, because we like our jerky spicy. Next time, I think I’m going to switch 1 cup of apple juice with 1 cup of coconut aminos. Coconut aminos is so expensive, I didn’t really want to waste so much on jerky.

So, I think that’s everything! Oh, I made another batch of the Easy Trail Mix. And that was how I spent my Saturday…along with hanging out with the family, and doing a little bit of work. Day 20 is in the bag!!!

Leave a Reply

