Monday Wakeup WOD – 02/28/2011

28 Feb

Today starts a new cycle at CFPA. Tim has us doing snatches for the next 3 weeks. WOO HOO! My problem with snatches is that when the load gets heavy, I tend to not open my hips up wide enough, and then compensate for it by landing really wide. It’s not like I can really work on it right now. My big belly is in the way, so I cant keep the bar as close to me as possible. Still, I’d like to be to fix this landing issue, and get a decent number in.

Snatch: 33#(5)-53#(5)-63#(3)-73#(3)-78#(Failed second rep, 3)

And then our WOD:

  • 400 m run
  • 15 DB Cleans(25#, Rx’d was 35#)
  • 400 m run
  • 15 DB Squat Cleans
  • 400 m run
  • 15 DB Thrusters
  • Simple right?! It was killer! At first I thought I could do 35#, but boy was I proven wrong. I did a couple reps with 25#, and then picked up the 30# DB. Nope, no way Jose! I couldn’t do it, so I stayed with the good ole 25# DB. It was a fast WOD, and I felt like I was being pushed to try to stay on top. I finished at 11:15, and was GASPING for air. I felt like watermelon was going to jump out of my mouth. I couldn’t control my breathing at all! That’s what I get for taking 4 days off! But it definitely felt good to get back at it.

    One Response to “Monday Wakeup WOD – 02/28/2011”

    Trackbacks/Pingbacks

    1. Crossfit Football Fight Gone Bad « Ramblings of a Crossfit Mom - April 18, 2011

      […] decided to use the 30# dumbbell for the DB Thrusters. The last time we used dumbbells in a WOD, I stuck with the 25# DB. I figured I could handle the 30# since it was just 1 minute at the […]

    Leave a Reply

