Grass Fed Ground Beef with Kelp Noodles

3 Mar

I’ve had kelp noodles in my fridge for a long time now. I probably bought it last year, so who knows if it’s still good or not. Oh well, I used it anyways. Kelp noodles are a great replacement for any type of rice noodle because it’s stringy. It definitely doesn’t have that same texture as vermicelli or pho noodles, but it will definitely do the trick. So if you are making some asian soups, feel free to put kelp noodles instead of rice noodles into your bowl…you won’t regret it.

Okay, onto the Stir Fry recipe.

Ingredients:

  • Chicken/Beef broth
  • 1 or 2 Kelp Noodle Package
  • 4 cloves of garlic, minced
  • 1/2 red onion
  • 1 lb of grass fed ground beef(or any other type of protein you want to eat it with)
  • 3 carrots, sliced. – I used a handful of baby carrots and sliced those up
  • 4 stalks of celery, sliced
  • Kale
  • 2 scrambled eggs, fried and sliced thin
  • 3 cap full of coconut aminos
  • Fish sauce, only a few splashes(I used fish sauce which doesn’t have sugar or any other additives in it(remember, I’m doing Whole30…gotta be picky with brands)
  • Salt and Pepper to taste
  • First, I poured some chicken broth into a pot, and boiled the kelp noodles in there. I thought it was have better flavor, instead of using plain water. You can use plain water though if you don’t have any beef or chicken broth on hand.

    As the kelp noodles were boiling, I put some avocado oil in a stir fry pan, and added the garlic and red onion. I stirred it a bit, then added the ground beef.

    I let it cook until the beef was almost then, then add all the veggies.

    I let that cook for about 6 minutes, waiting until the kale wilted. By that time, the noodles were done, so I put the noodles in, and added the coconut aminos and fish sauce. I also sprinkled the dish with some pepper and salt.

    Tada, instant dinner! After about 10 minutes, I thought about adding some egg in as well, so I scrambled up two eggs, made the eggs really thin, and sliced it up. Sorry, no pic…I forgot. Anyways, it’s was a nice little addition. I only used 1 package of noodles, but next time I think I’ll use 1.5 or 2 packages, because there was a lot of ground beef leftover. My hubby said it was yummy, and little munchkin’ was trying to eat our food too! Now, that’s a successful dinner!

    One Response to “Grass Fed Ground Beef with Kelp Noodles”

    Trackbacks/Pingbacks

    1. Whole30 – Day 25 « Ramblings of a Crossfit Mom - March 4, 2011

      […] hungry, and didn’t eat until 1PM. By that time, I scarfed down my leftovers from last night, kelp noodles with grass fed ground beef. I added some cauliflower rice in there, so I’d get more veggies. Yummy! I had a primal pac […]

    Leave a Reply

