Vietnamese Bun Bo Hue with Kelp Noodles- Paleofied

13 Mar

I asked my hubby what he misses since I’ve been on Whole30, and he says soups. Not normal veggies with meat type soups…he misses the Asian soups like PHO, Bun Thang, and Bun Bo Hue. So this week, I’ve decided to make the last two because I think I can make that without sugar or any other type of ingredients that contain preservatives. I took Wandering Chopsticks version of Bun Bo Hue, and just skipped 1 particular ingredient…SHRIMP PASTE. Shrimp paste has a very distinctive smell and flavor that not everyone enjoys in Bun Bo Hue. My hubby doesn’t really like it so I skipped it! EASY! The other thing I needed was the spice. Luckily, at my local asian market, there is a Bun Bo Hue spice mix already made. It contains, chili powder, paprika, ginger, and onion powder.

Here is what you’ll need to make this spicy beef soup:

  • Lemon grass stalks(about 10 of them)
  • 3lbs Pork bones
  • 3lbs Beef bones(I used marrow bones and oxtail)
  • Bun Bo Hue Spices
  • About 2 gallons of water
  • Annato seeds for the red color
  • 2 tbsp of Avocado Oil
  • 5 tbsp of Fish Sauce(I used Premium Fish sauce from Amazon, it only contains anchovy and salt)
  • Beef flank steak or any type of other red meat that you want, nothing fatty though. We used grass fed top round, and sliced it thin.
  • Optional: Steamed Pork Ham. (I love steamed pork ham, but when I buy it at stores, it contains some sugar, so this is optional. I didn’t have any tonight, but I might this week. We’ll see…still sad that it has sugar in it. I might end up making my own.
  • I followed Wandering chopsticks exact procedure, except for the fact that she didn’t use any Bun Bo Hue spices. So when she added the shrimp paste, I added the spices instead. My problem was that I had too much water, and not enough bones, so I had to add more spices and fish sauce to make it less bland.


    The pot turned out yummy, and now we have some Bun Bo Hue for a couple days. I don’t plain on eating it with any noodles except for Kelp Noodles. I love these Kelp Noodles, but gotta keep it to moderation! And any kind of mints that you like to it. We added onions, green onions, and rau ram(Vietnamese coriander leaf). I’m going to add some veggies like Bok Choy or broccoli to my bowl next time. It’s not traditional, but I’m irked that none of these Vietnamese soups have any veggies in them.

    YAY, I get my yummy soups back. Hope hubby enjoys it too!!

    One Response to “Vietnamese Bun Bo Hue with Kelp Noodles- Paleofied”

    Trackbacks/Pingbacks

    1. Another Sunday Prep Day – 03/13/11 « Ramblings of a Crossfit Mom - March 13, 2011

      […] but I still felt like I was in the kitchen ALL THE TIME! Maybe it’s because I was worried my Bun Bo Hue wouldn’t turn out good. So, what did I make today…roasted a bell pepper, meat sauce […]

    Leave a Reply

