Roasted Peking Duck Legs

15 Mar

I was looking for a duck recipe all day long, but a lot of the recipes had sherry wine in it or sugar and other ingredients that I didn’t really have. I wanted to mimic the roasted ducks that are sold at the Chinese BBQ restaurants. The one hubby likes the most is Mi Vit Tiem. It’s basically a egg noodle soup with roasted duck. I like the roasted peking duck with hoisin sauce and steamed buns. This dish usually gets served at Chinese Wedding Banquets, and the last time I had it was at Star Noodle in Maui. But of course, no more hoisin sauce or steamed buns for me in the near future.

I searched and search and found Jamie Oliver’s website, and his Crispy Peking Duck in Pancake recipe. The recipe only contained salt and Chinese Five Spice Powder. I modified the recipe a bit because I thought it needed more flavor, but I might be wrong!

Ingredients:

  • 6 duck legs
  • 2 tsp of Chinese Five Spice Powder
  • 1.5 tsp of Coconut Aminos
  • 1 medium shallot, minced
  • 1/8 cup of Pure Apple Juice(optional)
  • Sea salt and Pepper to taste
  • Pre-heat the oven to 375 degrees. Then I quickly mixed the Five Spice powder with the coconut aminos. The mixture is sort of thick, and you can add more coconut aminos if you want.

    Clean the duck legs and then put the legs into a roasting pan. I then I took the mixture and spread it evenly on the skin of each duck leg. I spread the shallots on top of the duck legs. You can mix the shallots in with the five spice powder if you like.

    At this point, I was thinking if I roast these legs, it might turn out too dry. So I poured some apple juice in the pan. Next time I think I might use Chicken Broth or nothing at all. It’s hard to over cook duck, so I doubt I needed the extra moisture.

    Then just add some salt and pepper on the duck legs, cover the roasting pan with foil, and roast for 1 hour. After 1 hour remove the foil, and let the skin get crispy for another 30 minutes. You can also broil it for faster results.

    First thing my hubby said after taking a bite was….”OOOOH, this is yummy…it has THE flavor”, meaning it taste like Mi Vit Quay. I’m so happy I was able to make the duck right. It’s my first time actually cooking duck too. Next time I’ll try to roast a whole duck instead of just duck legs. Love it! And to think I was going to just eat leftovers because I couldn’t find a good recipe. A whole duck is a little pricey though. It was close to $30 at Whole Paycheck, and that is why I settled on just the duck legs. Anyone know where we can get a good quality duck for a decent price?

    One Response to “Roasted Peking Duck Legs”

    1. R. March 16, 2011 at 10:30 am #

      We both had duck on the brain! I will certainly try this recipe out.

    Leave a Reply

