03/26/2011 – Gloomy Saturday (Primal Day)

27 Mar

It’s raining non-stop here in the bay, so we are trying to take little munchkin’ out when we think there is a long enough break.

I got up in the morning, and started to make little munchkin’ breakfast. Two fried eggs with some sweet potatoes. He only ate 1 egg, and then snacked on cheese and fruit the rest of the morning. I had an egg as well with deli oven roasted turkey meat and avocado.

For lunch, I had my mom’s beef soup. I didn’t sip on the soup because I’m not quite sure if she put any sugar in it. I just ate the cauliflower, broccoli, squash, and beef. It was good. Hubby had a Lee’s Sandwich which I couldn’t eat and didn’t really want either.

Now here comes dinner. I’ve been wanting to try out the new Boiling Crab at The Plant in South San Jose for about a week now. They basically serve shrimp, crab, clams, or lobster in 3 different types of Cajun Sauce. We ordered togo because the wait there can take up to 2 hours! Crazy! I called them and asked if they put margarine in their mix, because I read from the copycat recipes that Margarine is the main ingredient. The girl said there was margarine in the Rajun Cajun seasoning. So, I decided to stick with 1 lb of Shrimp mixed in Garlic & Butter . My hubby got 1 lb of shrimp with the Whole Shabang. The WholeShabang was the 3 seasonings mixed together(Rajan Cajun, Lemon Pepper, and Garlic&Butter). We also ordered 1 dungeness crab with Garlic & Butter. All had the triple X spicyness rating. I should of asked what made the seasoning spicy too, but forgot. To complete our order, I had to get 1 order of sweet potato fries. It’s fried in soybean oil…BLEH!

We came home, and I realized that I didn’t know which bag of shrimp contained the Garlic Butter sauce. The bags all look the same! So hubby did a taste test, and decided which one was mine. I hope he was right, otherwise I’d be very disappointed, especially since I’m trying my hardest to stay Paleo while eating out. The sweet potato fries were eye, and I only ate half the order. They were just too soggy..NOT WORTH consuming soybean oil. Now I know! We had to peel the skin off, and before I went Whole30, I would of dipped my shrimp into the sauce. This time around, I just ate the shrimp without re-dipping because I was that cautious. Very anal huh?!?!

I completely forgot to take a pic until I was almost done with my shrimp!

Here’s a pic of how I peeled the shrimp. Lots of work, but pretty freakin’ yummy!

Anyways, everything tasted yummy. I ate maybe two crab legs, and we still have the crab leftover. I was too shrimped out to consume anything else.

Anyways, I’m not too happy that I don’t know exactly what was in the sauce, but I played it as safe as I could and it still tasted delicious! I had a bowl of coconut milk with strawberries to end the night. 🙂

Leave a Reply

