03/28/2011 – Clean Eats

28 Mar

Monday came and went. Why can’t we have three day weekends instead of two day weekends?!

Anyways, I got up and headed to CFPA for our Monday WOD. I was going to eat my post-workout meal, but forgot because I decided to grab coffee with Tim and Fitbomb. Got into work, and watermelon was kicking me telling me to eat!

My breakfast wasn’t that great. I just put together some meat sauce that I made yesterday with collard greens.

I’m trying to get used to eating collard greens. So far, it’s eeeh. Not too good, not too bad. Maybe I didn’t season it enough this time around. I snacked on some macadamia nuts and dried mangoes, and that kept me full until close to 1pm.

For lunch, I had some leftover chicken breast from last week with collard greens, sweet potatoes, and roasted bell peppers.

Yes, I ate practically everything in there. Boy was I hungry. I wasn’t even excited about this lunch, but I didn’t want the lunch to go to waste either. For some reason, I was still hungry so I had an orange and some more macadamia nuts. I should mention that along with water, I’ve been drinking some VitaCoco. It just feels refreshing to drink coconut water, and I don’t feel boring. šŸ™‚

I picked up little munchkin’ from my parents house, and quickly got the Roasted Turkey Leg that I marinated yesterday into the oven. I hung out with little munchkin’ and munched on some Jackfruit that my mom had sent home with me. I love this tropical fruit. The fruit looks similar to a Durian, but it doesn’t have that distinct smell that can make all your other food smell as well.

You can usually find it in Vietnam or Thailand, and they import it all the way here. It’s soooo good!

I ate about 3/4 of this tray. I know, very bad, and tons of fructose probably. But hey, it’s FRUIT! LOL.

Anyways, I fed little munchkin’ and before I put him to bed, I was able to whip up some homemade Mayo. I think I’m going to get a new immersion blender soon. It gets really hot when I make this homemade Mayo, and I’m too lazy to do it by hand, and never really had any success. Anyways, I want to make more crab cakes, chicken salad, and Deviled Eggs.

Once little munchkin’ went to bed, it was time for dinner. Funny though, because my dinner really never got onto a plate. I just picked at the roasted turkey leg as I was dividing it up into portions to pack for lunch. I picked at the broccoli and carrots too, so I was full by the time I was done. So tasty! You definitely don’t have to wait for Thanksgiving to cook up some turkey.

Aaaah, and now my Monday is over. It’s going to be a long week. Hubby is working non-stop until opening day, so we are basically single parents until the weekend.

By the way, I’m going to SJ EATs this Saturday to check out some food trucks. It’s probaby non Paleo, but I promise to keep my eats to a minimum. Let’s just say I want to taste test the good stuff. šŸ˜‰ Oh, and my Grandma’s birthday is Saturday night. She choose a Chinese restaurant, and I don’t know what I’ll be eating. Maybe I can ask my mom to order some roasted duck or wait until a steamed fish comes out. The steamed fish is usually covered in soy sauce, but hey, at least it’s better than eating anything fried?! What should I ask them to order for me?! Any ideas?

Leave a Reply

