Sous Vide Salmon

6 Apr

Before I dashed off to work, I took a pre-marinated Chimichurri Wild Pacific Salmon package out of the freezer. You can buy this salmon at any Trader Joe’s. It’s great that they have fish that is pre-marinated and Paleo/Whole30 compliant. It makes an easy dinner when you are in a bind.

Last time I used my “sous vide”(beer cooler) machine, I made pork chops. This time, I’d experiment with salmon. I took my “sous vide” machine out, and filled it with warm water. I measured the water temperature to 140 degrees, and threw the salmon in. I left it in for 45 minutes, and by the time I took the salmon out, the water was at 130 degrees. The temperature dropped fast because I poured some cold water into the beer cooler before I put the salmon in. Other people have sous vide-ed salmon at below 120 degrees.

The salmon still looked a little pink, but maybe that was okay. Once I was ready to eat, I took out a small pan, and seared the salmon pieces for 2 minutes on each side. Easy and fast!

Even though Sous Vide-ing the salmon took longer to cook, than if I were to pan-sear the salmon directly for 10 minutes, the texture tasted soooo much better! The fish was flaky and very flavorful. The best part was the fish did not overcook, and you know it’s sooo easy to overcook any type of fish!

Sorry, I should of taken more pics. Next time!

Leave a Reply

