04/08/2011 – Paleo Fuel

9 Apr

TGIF! Today I’m only working a half day so I’m jumping up and down! 🙂 Can’t wait to enjoy the weekend.

Right after the workout at CFPA, I had to drink 50mg of glucose for my second gestational diabetes test. You might ask, Paleo? Glucose? Paleo? Nope, it’s definitely not Paleo, but honestly, I don’t really want to argue with my doctor about drinking glucose. Nowadays, I rarely have sugar in my body, so I BETTER NOT HAVE GESTATIONAL DIABETES! But, if you don’t want to take it, tell them. They can do some type of blood test without having you drink the 7-up flavored glucose.

I was starvin’ marvin’ after I was finally able to get to my desk. Last time I took the test, I was doing Whole30, and I was HUNGRY! I literally had the shakes and needed some type of starchy carb ASAP. It made me want to break my Whole30 commitment, but I stuck it out. This time, I came a little prepared. I had half a yam when I got the chance, and then ate my chicken salad.

The chicken in the chicken salad was a bit soggy. It didn’t taste as crunchy and flavorful as I remembered my BFF’s mom made it. Maybe I should use chicken breast instead of chicken thighs. Also, the homemade mayo was a bit runny, so that could of been the cause too. I scarfed it all down anyways, along with some macadamia nuts.

I wasn’t able to eat lunch until 1:30, after little munchkin’s doc. appointment. I ordered a carnitas salad with pico de gallo, hot salsa, and a side of guacomole from Chipotle.

I snacked on a champagne mango between lunch and dinner.

For dinner, I was at a lost. I didn’t have anything on hand to eat, and honestly I wanted to go out and get something non-Paleo. BUT, I have a whole weekend ahead of me, and if I get something non-Paleo now, my weekend might be doomed. I looked all over yelp, and decided to order some Indian Food. I really wanted to order Mediterranean, but all the restaurants were a little too far away.

I picked up the following:

1 Chicken Tandoori Leg
Prawn Masala
Chicken Tiki Masala

I came home and quickly stir fried some Italian Broccoli in bacon fat and Sunny Paris Seasoning. I then realized that I had Tandoori Chicken from Monday’s dinner. DUUUH! So I plated my dish with two Chicken Tandoori Drumsticks, a little bit of the Prawn Masala and Chicken Tiki Masala, and broccoli.

The prawn masala and chicken tiki probably weren’t made with Whole30 standards, but oh well. It was yummy!

Have a great weekend everyone! Enjoy the sunshine!

Leave a Reply

