04/10/2011 – Paleo Fuel

11 Apr

One thing that I’ve noticed since doing Whole30/Paleo while pregnant, is that when I deviate from the lifestyle, it’s easy to jump right back on it. I’ve stopped beating myself over about it, notice how I feel the next day, and realize that I don’t want to eat like that EVERY SINGLE DAY! It’s definitely not healthy for me.

Okay, onto more paleo fuel…

I started the day off with 2 fried eggs and some macadamia nuts. I should of added some greens, but our fridge was lacking in veggies. After feeding little munchkin’ I got ready to go to the Campbell Farmer’s Market and get a pre-natal massage at InSpa.

I picked up some kale, strawberries, broccoli, cabbage, sauerkraut, apples, onions, and cauliflower. I doubt it’ll be enough to last us until Sunday. so I plan on making a quick stop by Trader Joe’s later this week. I need to start looking at our budget and see how much I’m spending on food. I don’t want to overspend, but every time I go to the farmer’s market, I spend at least $50(strawberries($12) and kraut($6) were the most expensive this time around). And every time I go to Whole Foods, I spend at least $100 on less than 15 items. NOT GOOD! No wonder it’s called Whole Paycheck!

After my pre-natal massage, I picked up some Wahoo’s for hubby and Pluto’s for me. I was surprised that Wahoo’s had a lettuce taco, which consisted of a lettuce wrap, salsa, and cheese. You can choose any type of filling that they served: chicken, steak, fish, tofu, or shrimp. I got a shrimp lettuce wrap without cheese. It was pretty tasty!! And today, Pluto’s sort of disappointed me. Maybe I didn’t order enough meat. I just wasn’t feeling it.

Then, I started to quickly cook up some meat sauce for the hubby, make some food for the BBQ we were going to, and prepare little munchkin’s food for the week. For the meat sauce, I used the Puttanesca Sauce from Trader Joe’s with 1lb of Grass Fed Ground Beef.

It was so tasty, I kept on eating out of the pan. After that was done, I boiled some water to bathe the Sirloin Tip Steak in my hacked Sous Vide Beer Cooler that I was going to bring to the BBQ. I’ll post about the Sous Vide Sirloin Tip Steak later. I left the steak in the cooler for about 2 hours. It was not enough time or the temperature wasn’t right, because when we seared and cut the meat, and the tip was still uncomfortably rare. So I made the guys leave it on the grill for about 5 more minutes on eat side!!! Sorry, there are no pics of the finished product. Too much going on at a BBQ to remember to take a pic.

The other thing I made was haberno hot wings. I got the recipe from Primal Palate, but used 2 tbsp of butter and 2 tbsp of coconut oil instead of solely using coconut oil. I didn’t want the coconut oil to be too overpowering for people who weren’t used to it.

These wings were a hit at the BBQ. Someone said, it doesn’t even look marinated, but it taste YUMMY! LOL.

Along with the tip steak and wings, I scarfed down 1.5 mini burger patties and some sisig. I found out the sisig had a bit of soy in it, so that was NOT PALEO, but oh well, still just protein. For veggies, all I had was a small plate of spinach salad. Really small.

I was freakin’ full and tired after the BBQ, so when I came home I just got my stuff together for my morning at CFPA and knocked out! It was definitely a great weekend, and I honestly can’t wait until summer is here.

Leave a Reply

