Beer Cooler Sous Vide Pork SpareRibs with Salt Lick BBQ Seasoning

11 Apr

On Friday afternoon, I decided to make some ribs with our hacked Sous Vide cooler. The pork had to stay in the cooler for 24 hours, so I knew this was going to be hard. I decided that I was going to check on the water every 90 minutes until night time. Once it was night, I’d just let the water be whatever temperature it was going to be, and then raise the temperature when I got up in the morning.

Here’s the yummy piece of PIG!

First, I boiled the water to 150 degrees. While the water was boiling, I washed the ribs and seasoned the it with Salt Lick Dry Rub. You can find the rub at WholePaycheck.

Once the water was in the cooler, and the ribs were in a ziploc bag, I dropped the bag into the cooler and just let it cook.

I took the ribs out at 2:30 the next afternoon, and put it in the oven to broil for a few minutes. We didn’t eat it immediately, so I cut the ribs up, and put it in tupperware to save. The meat was failing of the bone as it was broiling in the oven. So tasty and delicious! You don’t even need BBQ sauce.

Another sous vide success!! 🙂

3 Responses to “Beer Cooler Sous Vide Pork SpareRibs with Salt Lick BBQ Seasoning”

  1. Daphne April 12, 2011 at 1:24 pm #

    You are seriously my hacked sous vide IDOL! I L-O-V-E it!!! ;D

  2. Daphne April 12, 2011 at 3:42 pm #

    By the way, where the heck can you find a Ziploc bag large enough for a whole rack of ribs???????

    • stle57 April 12, 2011 at 3:54 pm #

      Hi! I actually had to cut up the ribs into 3 sections because the ribs needed to be completely soaked. I don’t think there is any ziploc bag out there that can hold a full slab of ribs. Hope things are going well!!

Leave a Reply

