Sous Vide Sirloin Tip Steak – Failure

12 Apr

Now that I’ve tried Pork Chops, Ribs, and Salmon in my hacked Sous Vide cooler, I thought it would be a great time to try some steak. I’ve never cooked this tip of cut before, but thought it would do well in a Sous Vide.

The sirloin tip steak is a great piece to bring to a BBQ and share with some friends, which was exactly what we were doing. And I could show off my Sous Vide skills…heeheheh

I got my cooler ready by boiling water to about 140 degrees. This was the temperature that I wanted to keep the water at, so I had to check on it every 30 minutes or so. While the water was boiling, I marinated the pieces of steak with 2 tbsp of Emeril’s Creole Seasoning.

Normally a piece of steak only needs to sit in a Sous Vide bath for 45 minutes. But that was basically for a sirloin steak, rib eye, etc. I put the steak into a ziploc bag and let it lay in the cooler for 90 minutes. The outside of the steak looked cooked, but boy did I wrong.

When we brought it over to our friend’s house, I told them to just sear it for 2 minutes on each side. When I started to slice the tip up, it was way undercooked! Still super red inside! I should of taken a pic, but I completely forgot. Thank god, the grill was still going because I asked the guys to cook the steak up a bit more. Yes, 6 more minutes on each side!!!

The tip tasted good, but it was definitely a sous vide failure!!

2 Responses to “Sous Vide Sirloin Tip Steak – Failure”

  1. Mochimoch April 21, 2011 at 2:15 pm #

    45 mins is too short. Sirloin tips have to be sous vide for at least 12 hours.

    • stle57 April 22, 2011 at 8:02 am #

      AH HA! Now I feel stupid. I ready somewhere that it only took 45 minutes. Or maybe it was just in my head. Anyways, thanks for the tip. 🙂

Leave a Reply

