04/18/2011 – Clean Eats (A full day of Hog)

19 Apr

It’s so easy to get back on the good Paleo bandwagon when Monday comes around. Here’s what I put into my tummy after our Crossfit Football Fight Gone Bad WOD

For breakfast, I had a sweet potato, organic roasted chicken breast from applegate farms, and half an avocado. I snacked on 1 serving of macadamia nuts.

I had to make a quick stop at Trader Joe’s during lunch to pick up milk for the little munchkin’, so I picked up a Carnitas Salad(extra meat) at Chipotle.

The extra meat made me super full! Very uncomfortable when you are 6.5 months pregnant. It was yummy though, and for some reason, I was still able to eat an apple afterwards.

When I got home, I took the bacon wrapped tenderloin that I prepped yesterday out of the fridge. I got my pan out and started to sear each side for 5 minutes.

As the pork was searing, I diced 1 yam to roast with the pork. In addition, I had cabbage that I bought at the farmers market two weekends ago. Yes, it was still fresh, so I decided to just sauteed the cabbage up in the bacon fat for about 7-8 minutes.

I put the pork and yam into the oven at 415 for 20 minutes. I definitely overcooked the pork, maybe seared it for too long, but it wasn’t as pink as I like it. These are times where I wish I had a real Sous Vide Machine. Here’s what my dinner plate looked like.

The pork was still yummy. Anything is yummy in bacon fat. To end the night, I had some pineapple and dried mangoes, and I knocked out at 9PM! Hope everyone’s week started off great!! 🙂

3 Responses to “04/18/2011 – Clean Eats (A full day of Hog)”

  1. R. April 19, 2011 at 7:35 am #

    We need to arrange a SousVide exchange or something! You can drop your meat off, I’ll dunk it and cool it, you pick it up and take it home to finish! Community effort, ha!

    • stle57 April 19, 2011 at 8:50 am #

      Aaaw, that’s sweet of you! Will you be at the BBQ on Saturday?

      • R. April 19, 2011 at 10:55 am #

        I’ll most likely make it — I certainly want to especially to meet all you early morning peeps in person!

Leave a Reply

