2011 11.6 Games WOD – 04/29/2011

29 Apr

It’s Friday and another great workout at Crossfit Palo Alto. We got a visit from FitDaffy, so it was nice to meet her! Maybe she’ll join us at CFPA more often, which means she can ditch Mad Dawg Fitness! Hint hint!

Today’s skill were Ring Dips. If I don’t get these, then I can’t even attempt to do a muscle up. I worked with the thinest band we had available which was the purple one, and did the 5×5 scheme. My problem is I can’t keep my elbows close to me when I get back up from the dip. My triceps and core are weak, so I should look into how to strengthen them up. Well core, I can’t do much about right now, but at least I should practice regular dips and do some other exercise to strengthen the triceps. Time to research!

After the ring dips, we went onto the 11.6 Games WOD, and it goes like this:

7 min AMRAP:

  • 3 Thrusters (100#/65#), 3 Chest to Bar Pull Ups
  • 6 Thrusters, 6 Pull Ups
  • 9, Thrusters, 9 Pull Ups
  • 12 Thrusters, 12 Pull Ups
  • 15 Thrusters, 15 Pull Ups
  • And so on, until 7 minutes are over.
  • The thruster weight was easy for me, because I’m used to 65#. I wonder why they didn’t up it a bit. We did 75# at the sectionals last year. We also did Chest to Bar Pull ups last year, and I was able to do them without getting a no rep call. So, I tried it, and my chest was not able to touch. WTF! Okay, maybe it was because of Watermelon, but STILL!!! I kept practicing, but no luck until right before the WOD started, and I was able to do 3. So, okay…maybe I can do this WOD rx’d.

    I got through 3 Thrusters, with 3 chest to bar pull ups. WOO HOO! Got through my 6 reps of Thrusters, and then it all went down hill from there with the pull ups. I couldn’t get anymore!!! Dammit! So, I just did the normal pull ups, and it still sucked. I was sort of down to one pull up at a time because I was putting all my effort into getting my chest to touch the damn bar!!! I was one rep shy of finishing the 12 rep round.

    Total Reps: 59! I’ll come back with vengeance…NEXT TIME!

    Our CoffeeWOD group stayed after to watch Tim, Sean, Blake, and Maddie do the games WOD so they could submit. It’s great to watch them, but it lights a fire under my ass to get back and shape, and be good at something! They are a great inspiration. Anyone who thinks they can’t do this “Crossfit thing” is just cutting themselves short. Go ahead and try it, you’ll be amazed at what you can do!

    One Response to “2011 11.6 Games WOD – 04/29/2011”

    1. Daphne April 30, 2011 at 8:31 pm #

      Hey, I don’t get it… what are you hinting at??? LOL!!! ;D

    Leave a Reply

