Paleo Chinese BBQ Pork (Char Siu)

30 Apr

Delightful Taste Buds posted a Primal BBQ Pork recipe a few days ago, and I was soooo happy to see it. When I first looked at the pictures I thought she had a Rotisserie stick that was inside her oven. I thought I could do it the same way, just buy the Rotisserie stick as an acessory, but it turns our she had a small rotiserrie oven that she bought. I didn’t have one, so I had to go looking at other sites to see how they did it without a rotisserie oven. A lot of people just used their normal oven and put it on the roasting rack. So, I decided to work with the recipe and just roast it in my oven.

I modified Delightful Taste Buds’s recipe a bit to make it more Whole30 compliant so here is what you’ll need:

7-8 garlic cloves, minced
2 star anise
1 Tbsp five spice powder
4 Tbsp raw honey (This is the ingredient that doesn’t make it Whole30 compliant)
1 tsp white pepper
1 tsp cinnamon powder
1 tsp salt
1 tsp paprika powder
1/4 cup Coconut Aminos
3-5 lbs Boston Pork Butt

First, I cut up the pork into long pieces, about 2 inches wide and 5 inches long. That gave me about 6 thick slices.

I combined all the spices and liquids together in a small mixing bowl.

I placed the pork into a ziploc bag and then poured the marinade all over the pork. I used my hands to mix everything together, and then put it in the refrigerator to marinate for over 12 hours.

When you are ready to roast the pork, pre-heat your oven to 300 degrees. Place the pork on the rack with a roasting pan underneath, so all the fat can fall down onto it. Trust me, you’ll need it. It’ll keep your oven from getting messy and dirty!

Leave the pork in there for 45 minutes. Afterwards, turn down the heat to 280 degrees, and every 10 minutes, brush the extra marinade on the pork and flip it over. I would do this about 4-6 times. I’d recommend to add more honey if you want it sweeter, but I’m trying to stay away from adding any type of sugar into homemade food, so I passed on this step.

The pork definitely has the asian flavor, without the sweetness. I wish it was a bit sweeter, but oh well, that’s what I get for trying to be good. Also, I miss the red color that BBQ Pork normally has. Maybe I should try adding annatto seed to it next time. People usually use food coloring. LOL. Hubby said he loved it because it’s not as sweet as the BBQ pork that you buy at the Chinese restaurants.

Thanks Delightful Taste Buds and happy cooking everyone!

3 Responses to “Paleo Chinese BBQ Pork (Char Siu)”

  1. Jos April 30, 2011 at 8:07 pm #

    That looks wonderful! Glad you like the recipe and thanks for the shout out šŸ™‚

  2. Daphne April 30, 2011 at 8:30 pm #

    Awesome! I’ve also been dying to try it myself, just need to get the five spice. Is it something we can hack sous vide and then crisp under the broiler??? ;D

  3. Stacey Taylor October 22, 2012 at 5:17 pm #

    I was thinking a little saffron would add the redness and make the flavour more in depth?

Leave a Reply

