05/11/2011 – Zercher Squats and Double Under Failures

11 May

I woke up three times last night, and one of the reasons was because I had a calf cramp. Anyone pregnant every have these? For some reason, I was stretching in my sleep and all of a sudden my calf muscle on my left leg started to cramp up. It F’IN hurt! I had these when I was carrying lil’ munchkin’ too. You know what my Dr. suggested? Taking 3 tums before I go to sleep, and 3 more when it happens. Really tums? Oooooh k, doc…sure!

Luckily, I woke up in time to head to Crossfit Palo Alto. Our strength workout today was Zercher Squats, and I missed last week, so I wasn’t expecting any type of PR. Especially now that I’m in my 3rd trimester, and about 10 weeks away from meeting lil’ watermelon, which we have yet to name. I digressed…back to Zercher Squats.

95#(3)-105#(3)-115#(1)-125#(1)-130#(1)

For some reason, the 95# felt heavy for me when I did them. Maybe because I wasn’t warmed up enough, but it got easier as I went on. My original PR was 140#, and if I wasn’t preggs, I would of tried more. Hopefully I can keep around the same numbers when we do this again.

Onto our WOD:

Double Unders(50-40-30-20-10)
Burpees(4-6-8-16-20)

I was the last one to pick up a rope, and there wasn’t any short ones left. I should of just used my heavy rope since it was my length. But I didn’t, and was stuck with a long one. I did the first 50 double unders, and I was the last to finish. I had so much trouble with them though, only stringing together maybe 13 at a time. That was at the beginning too. After, it was more like 6 or 7 at a time. I hear Tim yelling from across the room…”Steph, get those double unders”. Dammit! After my 4 burpees and 10 DUs from the 40 set, I decided I was going to go back to the singles and do the 3:1 ratio. I never made up the time that I lost with the 50 DUs and ended up last AGAIN. I love it though, because it’ll just push me to work harder with these met-cons after baby bump. I’m a little disappointed that I gave up, and I’m sure Tim was too.

Big ups to Fitbomb who was the only one that did it RX’d, and killed it under 10 minutes. Now, it’s my turn to catch up!

Result: 12:50

BTW, I only gained 1 pound since the last weigh in at my docs. Woot Woot! Sad thing is, I celebrated with brownies and cupcakes at my office party. I told you…being unprepared can really hurt the clean diet!!! Do as I say, not as I do. šŸ˜‰

3 Responses to “05/11/2011 – Zercher Squats and Double Under Failures”

  1. Daphne May 11, 2011 at 2:47 pm #

    You get those calf cramps too??? I used to get those about once a week during my last trimester and those DO F’N hurt!!! Tums, eh? Lame… šŸ˜¦ Maybe try getting those prenatal massages and/or chiropractic care? I know chiro care really helped me out a lot in my last trimester. šŸ™‚

    • stle57 May 11, 2011 at 4:24 pm #

      Yes, they f’in hurt! LOL. I hope it doesn’t happen more often. I think I’m just going to have to stretch more, which I really don’t do enough of. Especially on off days. Great seeing you today. šŸ™‚

      • Daphne May 12, 2011 at 1:31 pm #

        It was awesome seeing you too! Though I’ll have to make sure I buy coffee for everybody the next time I go hang out with you guys. šŸ™‚

        If it’s of any consolation (and of course, I can’t really say cuz I’ve only had ONE kiddo), the only time I’ve had the crazy calf cramp post-pregnancy was when I went running in my Vibrams for the first time. Wooo did my calves HURT! šŸ˜€

Leave a Reply

