05/19/2011 – Clean Eats

20 May

Mentally, I’ve checked out of work. My work week doesn’t start until next Monday, so I didn’t do squat today except eat and eat. 🙂 I took my time going into work and prepared dinner, but it end up turning into a huge mess. I thawed some ribs out the night before to make a Dry-Rubbed Espresso Chili Slow Cooker Ribs. I got the rub all ready, and as I was trying to put the ribs on the counter, it fell out of my hands and tipped the container that contained the rub. The rub spilled all over the counter, and I had to try to save it all. I got most of it, so I didn’t have to re-do the rub again. Aaah, what a way to start the morning. BUT, I was able to marinate the ribs and throw it in the slow cooker for 7 hours!!

Okay, enough about my clumsyness, and onto good eats.

I started the day with a huge breakfast which I did not finish. It was mainly leftovers. 2 fried eggs, Broiled Proscuitto Wrapped Asparagus, and some Roasted Curry Cauliflower.

Went to Chelokababi for lunch and we got an appetizer. I ate the eggplant, olives, and cucumbers. Here’s a pic of what was left over.

I ordered the Shish Kebob, which was a skewered Filet Mignon with onions and bell peppers, and I DID NOT EAT THE RICE. I just forgot to tell them no rice. I did add some full fat Greek yogurt and hot sauce into the mix. It was pretty f’in tasty in my opinion. Love the hot sauce!!

I was still hungry when I got back to the office, so a little while later I had some organic deli roast beef from Applegate Farms and avocado. I came home, and also snacked on organic salami from Applegate. I ordered the roast beef and salami by the case, so we are stocked for a month, or maybe a few weeks. LOL.

By the time hubby and I got home, dinner was almost ready. I took the ribs out of the slow cooker and broiled it in the oven for 7 minutes. I was going to roast up some greens to go with our ribs, but the ribs just looked too good.

We cut into it, and covered the ribs with the onions and mushroom broth that came out of the slow cooker. SOOOO YUMMY!!! Sorry, I don’t have a pic of my plate. After we got lil’ munchkin’ to sleep, I was really really really REALLY craving something. I wanted to snack but had no fruits available. I guess I could of snacked on macadamia nuts, but eeeh, really didn’t want something savory. So, I made hubby make me an Coconut Banana Avocado Smoothie. It was delicious, and kept my tummy full. Watermelon wasn’t too happy because I downed the smoothie pretty fast, so he probably had no room to move. Seriously, I wanted ice cream or something, but I knew that if I had a treat, it would hurt my time in the WOD the next morning.

On a side note, my level of coolness, or should I say our level of coolness, has gone down a notch because we sold our sexy car today. It was kind of sad to see this baby go, but I swear we will meet AGAIN. One day, when I don’t have to think about supporting my kids and providing for them. It’s an end of an era. I’ll miss you Jaws!!!!

Leave a Reply

