05/23/2011 – Thrusters and Body Weight Metcon

23 May

Aaah, waking up today hurt but I had to get to CFPA for The Marines last workout with us. He’s been with Fitbomb and I at the 5AM class since October, I think. Anyways, I’m going to miss him, and hopefully our paths will cross again! I’m jealous you’ll be at the Crossfit Games!!

Today we started a new strength cycle, so it looks like I’ll be working on my Thrusters for the next 3 Mondays. A thruster basically combines the Front Squat movement and Push Press into one. Also, it’s one of the movements in the most “famous” girls WOD, FRAN!

Here were my loads:

Thrusters: 63#(5)-73#(5)-83#(3)-93#(3)-93#(3)

The weight seemed good for me, and I did the 93# set twice because I didn’t feel solid with it in the first set. My left wrist was starting to ache, and I felt as though I didn’t get enough of a push to get the bar overhead. Since this week was a practice week, I definitely needed to stay light. I’m hoping I can get pass 108#s, so we’ll see what happens in the next two weeks.

Onto our Bodyweight WOD:

400 m Run
21-15-9 Pull-Ups, Burpees
500m Row
Result – 13:57 Rx’d

This is what I dread when I have a weekend of dirty eats. Running, rowing, and then bodyweight movements. Come on Tim, help a preggy out!! LOL – j/k!! The WOD ended up not being as bad as I thought it would be. The last time I did pull-ups, I had no rhythm and could only get 3 at a time. This time, I just focused on using my hips more when kipping, and I was able to pull 7 on the first round. For the burpees, I just kept going even though it was at a snail’s pace. And yes, I can’t wait to shed the weight and attack this again!

Hope everyone’s Monday is going well. 🙂

Leave a Reply

