05/25/2011 – Clean Eats and Our Split Half Cow from Morris Grassfed

26 May

Yummy goodness today, and it sure was busy.

Once I got to my desk, I munched on sauteed kale and the other half of my dinner, steak!

That kept me full for a bit, and then I had a handful of macadamia nuts. Went to trader joe’s and picked up some snacks. When I got back to my desk, I had 2 duck legs and asparagus wrapped with prosciutto.

I’m glad my coworkers don’t sneak up behind me while I’m eating lunch. Would be funny to have them see me gnawing on a duck leg. So yummy!!!

I was still hungry a couple hours later so I opened a can or sardines drenched in olive oil, and noshed on dried cranberries and dried mangoes.

I left work early, and guess what I picked up!?!?!?! Our 80# of beefy goodness from Morris GrassFed. I ordered an addition 10# of ground beef and extra beef bones. Check it out!

I guess we’ll be hosting a lot of BBQs this summer, and making lots of burgers. I gave 5# of the ground beef to my MIL. I also brought over more than 10# of ground beef to my mom and a bag of bones because we didn’t have a place to store it all. Here is what our chest freezer looked like after all was packed.

Hubby had to play puzzle bubble with the packages, because the door wouldn’t close!! Woopsy. But now we are stocked with roasts, steaks, oxtails, and bones until the fall. With ground beef, I think we are good for a whole year. If anyone wants to do a trade, let me know!!! I got tons of ground beef. I need to start being more creative with ground beef too. I’m not a meat loaf fan, but maybe I should try it out.

After I made a mess of our chest freezer, I had to leave and go to a graduation. Luckily we got there late, and didn’t have to stay very long. When I got home, hubby had made spaghetti, but he was kind enough to quickly cook up a chicken sausage for me. I didn’t have any emergency veggies lying around, so I just warmed up some roasted sweet potatoes. Here was my dinner, with a side of watermelon.

One more day of work and I get a 4 day weekend! WOO HOO!

3 Responses to “05/25/2011 – Clean Eats and Our Split Half Cow from Morris Grassfed”

  1. Pam May 26, 2011 at 9:44 pm #

    Steph! Would you mind sharing how to cook sweet potatoes?

    • stle57 May 31, 2011 at 11:32 am #

      Hey! I pre-heat the oven to 425(sometimes 400 depending on how big the sweet potatoes are). Use a knife to put slits into the sweet potato and plop them into the oven for about an hour(sometimes more). It will smell yummy. You can rub some olive oil on the skin if you’d like. Either way, it’ll taste yummy!

  2. Pam May 31, 2011 at 11:27 pm #

    Thank you!! Going to try this week!

Leave a Reply

