The Paleo Baby

26 May

I wanted to mention that I recently followed Dawn from The Paleo Baby on Twitter.

She sent me an email asking me if I would like to answer some questions for a post she was going to write about in regards to paleo, pregnancy, and food cravings. Of course, I said yes, and on Monday and Wednesday, she posted about the topic. Post 1 focused more on “pregnancy cravings” and if Paleo had any affect on stopping it. Post 2, where my thoughts were incorporated, focused more on what you can do with pressure from people who don’t eat Paleo. Dawn wrote a great post, and her thoughts are almost exactly like mine.

I have a hubby who is not fully Paleo, but he eats whatever I make. If he wants rice or noodles, he’ll make it. I don’t try to force anything upon him. I’d like to think that I’m not that bad of a cook, and that is why he can stand my Paleo foods. And I hate saying Paleo…it’s real food people. Real beefy goodness made with lots of spices, minimal salt, and this may be a surprise to those on the other spectrum, but FULL OF FLAVOR!

Anyways, I’ve digressed. Like I told Dawn and I may have mentioned it in my other posts, eating real foods(or Paleo) has helped me keep my strength in Crossfit. It gives me the energy to get up 3 times a week at the crack of dawn, and be involved in a great community like CFPA. It’s also given me energy to keep up with my 19 month old who is getting faster, stronger, and more intelligent by the hour, while pregnant. I’m not saying I don’t get exhausted, because I do. It’s just my exhaustion happens less often then most people who are 8 months pregnant.

So, if you are pregnant, keep eating healthy for you, your growing baby, and the people around you. If you do stray and treat yourself, make sure it’s worth it!!! Cravings are cravings, and we fight them everyday, pregnant or not. Especially if our goal is to stay healthy. Try not to use the “pregnant” excuse to eat greasy and starchy foods EVERY SINGLE DAY. Trust me, you’ll regret it when 7 months comes around and you can’t do anything for yourself.

One Response to “The Paleo Baby”

  1. Dawn May 30, 2011 at 9:12 am #

    Thanks again Stephanie! It was so great to hear what you had to say … our experiences are so similar in so many ways. Your husband sounds a lot like mine. He’ll eat whatever I make but also adds in whatever he wants. And I agree, too, that the healthy diet has really helped me keep up the strength for workouts. I am starting to slow down, but love that I can still do almost everything I’ve been doing for the past 18 months!

Leave a Reply

