05/27/2011 – Clean Eats plus Dairy

28 May

Yes, I had more dairy. It’s weird, because I’ve been craving more dairy during this trimester. Since I don’t have a problem with it, I keep it to a small amount.

Can you believe our family survived without eggs this week? I wasn’t able to buy any from the Farmer’s Market last Sunday, and forgot all about it when I went to TJs. So this morning, I fried up two Spicy Italian Chicken Sausages for lil’ munchkin’ and I. I mixed his with roasted sweet potatoes. Luckily he ate most of the chicken sausage and all of the sweet potatoes.

That’s him!

My little bowl contained the sausage plus cabbage and cinnamon sweet potatoes from last night’s dinner.

I had to drop hubby at the dealership in Fremont so he can do his thing around lunch time. While waiting for him, I drove lil’ munchkin’ around Pacific Commons to find something to eat. The first thing I saw that was Paleo compliant was In-N-Out. So, I ordered togo, and lil’ munchkin’ and I ate in the car. My meal was a double patty protein style burger with grilled onions and tomatoes. Hold the spread, hold the ketchup and mustard.

It was time to go meet hubby, but he asked me not to come yet. Lil’ munchkin’ and I killed some time at Starbucks, and this is where I ordered my americano with a splash of heavy cream. I didn’t drink all of it. Just 1/2. When I brought it back to hubby, he took a sip, made a cringe on his face, and immediately asked “What is NOT in here that makes it taste so bitter?!!?”. Duh! Sugar! LOL. I like it though.

We came home, and everyone took a quick nap. I got up around 4ish, and lil’ munchkin’ wanted cheese. I don’t know what happened, but I ended up eating a slice of Tillamook cheese. Yummy!

Huby then took lil’ munchkin’ to the park, while I stayed home to prepare all of us dinner. Hubby thawed some a New York Strip Steak for us. I didn’t have any pre-made seasoning, so I just added salt and pepper to the steaks. I went scouring for some side dishes, and found Primal-Palate’s Steak and Roasted Broccoli recipe. I had tons of broccoli, so I roasted a bunch with olive oil, salt, and pepper. I squeezed some lemon on it afterwards, and ta-da!

Then I decided to stir fry some mushrooms that I picked up at the SJ Downtown Farmer’s Market today. I didn’t have any anchovies, so I used a couple dashes of fish sauce with red pepper flakes, salt, and pepper.

Then hubby grilled up the steaks.

And my plate looked like this:

I ate 3/4 of the steak and all the veggies. For dessert, I had a piece of 85% dark choco with watermelon. Yes, I know more sugar.

OOOOOH, I forgot to mention that I ate a pound of cherries. Yes, that’s bad. But they are only in season for a month or two!!!

One Response to “05/27/2011 – Clean Eats plus Dairy”

  1. Dawn May 30, 2011 at 9:15 am #

    Wow, a week without eggs! That would be tough. Oh, and I’m doing heavy cream in coffee these days, too. Yum. I usually make mine at home, but when I order it at a coffee shop they always seems surprised since most people order everything nonfat.

Leave a Reply

