05/30/2011 – Clean Eats

31 May

How was everyone’s long weekend? I had a great 4 day weekend with my little family. I wish all weekends were 4 days long, but alas we all gotta hustle and make that money. I ate clean about 60% of the time, with a non-Paleo meal on Saturday(Thai food) plus dessert(shared a Cinnabon with hubby), and a few slices of garlic bread from Henry’s Hi-Life on Sunday night. I didn’t take any pictures of my eats, because honestly I wasn’t thinking about it that much. We spent Saturday hanging out with lil’ munchkin’, and then took him cherry picking on Sunday. It was my first time, and it was sort of fun. Lots of families get together and go pick cherries. I think it’s a great deal($2.50/lb) and a good experience, even though we had to drive an hour into the suburbs. Sunday night, hubby and I had a date-night which we haven’t had since March or April.

And now Monday comes around, and my day was jam packed. I got up early and started prepping for our tiny little BBQ. I prepped mini grass-fed burgers and marinated some two pieces of grass-fed flat iron steak. Once I was able to make Lil’ Munchkin’ some breakfast, it was time for hubby to take over, so I could go tackle “Murph” at CFPA.

I got home close to 11 and still had to prep some roasted bell peppers and roasted Portobello mushrooms. I should of taken a picture of all the food I prepped, but honestly I was in a rush, and didn’t have time to stop what I was doing, wash my hands, to take a pic, and then get my hands dirty again(I don’t know how you do it Nom Nom Paleo…that’s dedication!). I didn’t get a chance to actually eat the food until 1:30!! I was starving, but too busy chasing the kids around making sure no one broke a bone. I had all the intention to actually eat the grass fed sliders with Hawaiian King Bread rolls. I bought two big packs from Costco just for this BBQ. I thought I deserved to eat the bread, because I totally killed the workout, but when it came down to it, I didn’t want to. I started to feel guilty, and then thought if I had 1 it wouldn’t hurt, but I knew if I had 1 bite, I would end up having another and another, and then there would be no self control. So, I had to control myself from the beginning, and not give in. Now we have over 1.5 packets of Hawaiian King Bread in our pantry, staring at me. SIGH.

Anyways, I ate 2 sliders sans Hawaiian Bread with Broiled Proscuitto wrapped Asparagus, and some roasted bell peppers. I had a small piece of tillamook cheese on one of the sliders. I was freakin’ pooped, so as soon as Lil’ Munchkin’ went down for his afternoon nap, I went to bed too. However, I my nap didn’t feel like a nap. I was burnt out, and it felt like I was still awake the entire time I was sleeping. Got up at 4, and my entire body was numb.

We had lots of leftovers…lots! I was hoping for leftovers though, because I honestly don’t want to cook that much the next few days. Hubby is going to be gone, and I’ll be a single parent for 4 days while pregnant. I just want to have food there for me to easily warm up, and spend as much time with Lil’ Munchkin’ as I can.

For dinner, I cooked up some bacon to add to the sliders, and it tasted soooo much better. šŸ™‚ I had 2 slides with probably 3 pieces of bacon, a side of guac and asparagus. I munched on cherries and watermlon throughout the day. Oooh, and for dessert, I ended with a piece of 85% dark chocolate.

I know my sugar tantrums are creeping back in. I’m going to let some slide but come August, it’s going to be cleansing time again, which only means Whole30!

Hope everyone had a fun-filled weekend with family and friends. I sure did, but now I know that I’m so ready to pop. I hope he isn’t shy because I will take him early if he wants. Just not this weekend, because hubby won’t be around. šŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

