05/29/2011 – Memorial Day Murph

31 May

My 4 day weekend has been very relaxing with some activity in it. In case you are wondering I ate clean 60% off the time with a couple of cheats on Saturday, and a small cheat on Sunday. I’ll go into some detail later in another post because I’d like to talk more about how I spent my Memorial Day morning working out with the great community of Crossfit Palo Alto.

All of us did the the well known “Murph” WOD which was named in honor of Lt. Michael P. Murphy. You can learn more about Murphy’s story here. We had about 30 people in the 9AM class, and it was great to meet everyone who I don’t see in The Five Tribe. to be honest, I’ve been agonizing about this workout the night before, and knew it would hurt to do it. Right before I left the house, I confessed to hubby what the workout consisted of, and he said “WHAT!, You better take it easy!”. I promised I would and was going to scale the pull-ups. As Tim was giving us our mental boost to just “suck it up and get through the workout”, because IT IS just a workout, and our pain in that moment was nothing compared to what Lt. Michael Murphy went through, I completely stopped worrying about what time I was going to get or if I was going to finish last. Or, how I was going to get through 20 rounds of Cindy. All that didn’t matter anymore, I just wanted to finish and honor the men and women who were serving our country. And also honor the only Marine that I personally knew who died in combat, my BFF’s cousin, Cor. Jeremiah Allen Baro.

Murph

  • 1 Mile Run
  • 100 Pull Ups
  • 200 Push Ups
  • 300 Squats
  • 1 Mile Run
  • The first mile took me about 9 minutes. Not too bad considering I haven’t ran a mile in a few months. I decided to break down the pull ups, push ups, and squats into “Cindy” rounds(5 pull ups, 10 push ups, and 15 squats). I started to do the pull ups in the purple band, but I soon found out it took too much effort for me to get my feet into the band. My big belly was getting in the way and I couldn’t lift my left leg high enough to get my feet into the band. I did maybe 6 out of the 20 total rounds with the purple band. The rest of the rounds I did just the normal kipping. I was able to do 5 straight the entire time too. Very proud of that!

    With the push ups, I never thought of scaling them beforehand, I was always more worried about the pull-ups. But when I went into the first round, I just put my knees down and scaled it. I think the push-ups would of been what slowed me down if I didn’t scale them. I was able to do 10 in a row all the time. Probably because the belly is in the way, so I don’t have to go down as far.

    As for the squats, they were easy, but I wasn’t able to keep perfect form. At times I was on my toes, and Tim kept yelling at me to stay on my heels. I had two rounds of Cindy left, so I decided just to do the 10 pull-ups and get them out of the way. Then I would do 10 push-ups, 15 squats, 10 push ups, 15 squats.

    When I started the last mile, my legs were so tight, I was literally taking baby steps. About 4 or 5 people passed me up, and boy was I happy to see the 800 line. Once I got there, I knew I was within minutes of finishing, and I kept telling Watermelon, “We are almost there, thanks for hanging in there with me!” My poor baby. lol. R caught up with me, and I wanted to stick with her, and we finished together! It was a great ending with everyone cheering each other on. Once you finish a workout like that, there’s like a new wave of energy that passes through you. I might have been breathing hard and just physically exhausted, but that didn’t matter, because I was mentally re-energized. I felt like I could accomplish or tackle anything!

    Result: 50:27

    This was the longest WOD that I’ve ever done, but I can’t wait to do it again. Thanks to everyone at CFPA for the support and encouragement. It was nice to meet everyone from the other classes, and get a chance to workout with Nom Nom Paleo, Triebo, Alma, R, etc.

    Here’s our 9AM Murph Crew

    4 Responses to “05/29/2011 – Memorial Day Murph”

    1. Rebecca May 31, 2011 at 8:31 pm #

      It was awesome to do a workout with you finally and, especially, to finish Murph strong with you!

      • stle57 June 1, 2011 at 4:14 pm #

        It was great to finally workout with you too! Can’t wait for our next one. 🙂

    2. Daphne June 1, 2011 at 7:27 am #

      You are AWESOME for doing Murph while 8 months preggo! 😀

    Leave a Reply

