Our lil’ watermelon a.k.a “AMRAP” has arrived!

1 Aug

Our little watermelon AKA lil’ AMRAP, has arrived! He was born on July 20 at 9:30PM weighing in at 7lbs and 4oz. Can you believe lil’ AMRAP was overdue! We were reaching 41 weeks, until Wednesday when I started to feel contractions at 7:30 in the morning. At first, I wasn’t really sure if it was contractions, because it just felt like he was sitting really low and putting pressure on my bladder. But then the pressure went away and I thought it was nothing. Until 10 or 15 minutes later, it came back. Uuuh oooh, here we go!

I actually went to go visit my Grandma at 9:30AM, and wanted to run some errands thinking I could just work through the pain for a bit. But the contractions started to come more often and hurt more, so I knew I had to bring lil’ munchkin’ to my Dad’s house, and call hubby. Hubby was actually sitting in the dentist chair getting his teeth fixed. He got out of there as fast as he could, while I was at home trying to think of all the things we needed to bring. I actually was trying to clean the house real quick make sure our sink wasn’t full of dirty dishes and throw out any leftovers we had in the refrigerator. Yes, I’m weird like that. Oooh and I had to make sure we had all “i” items with us. You know…iPhone, iPad, iCharger…etc.

We got to the hospital at 11:30, and it was sort of a painful ride. I was feeling contractions every 5 minutes, and I had to take deep breathes to get through them. I wanted to stop by In-n-Out to get something to eat. I knew I wouldn’t be able to eat anything once I got the epidural, but hubby said we should just go to the hospital.

Once I was admitted, and the doc came by to check on me, I was 5cm dilated! The doc broke my water to speed things along, and I got my EPI pretty fast. I LOVE THE EPI! Much props to all ladies who don’t get the epidural, because that is some pain that you have to go through. A much much harder WOD!! I started to push at 3:30, but the nurse said the baby was in the occiput posterior position (OP or sunny side up). They wanted me to just wait it out, and see if we could get the baby to turn. I had to lay on one side for 20 minutes in the “Texas Roadhouse” position. Then I would switch to the other side for another 20 minutes, and so on. We didn’t try to push again until 8:30, and AMRAP was still OP.

I honestly believe that Crossfit got me through pushing because the way I had to push was similar to the substitution movement I had to do for an ab-mat sit up! The sub movement was for me to sit on the corner of the box with my legs near my chest, for the starting position. Then I would push out my legs and my upper body, and then bring it back together. Not the best description. The nurse said “Curl over your baby” and push for 10 seconds. If you’ve ever been in the delivery room, you know how my legs were positioned, and how you have to use your core. Anyways, I pushed for an hour, and our lil’ AMRAP came out at 9:30PM, weighing in at 7lb 4oz.


Lil’ AMRAP was 2 pounds heavier than lil’ munchkin’. CRAZY. Who knew my body could handle THAT! LOL. The delivery doc said she was very doubtly that I would be able to have a normal delivery, and was very surprised that I was able to push him out. I’m just happy lil’ AMRAP is healthy, and my recovery is going way better than the first time around.

It’s been almost two weeks since lil’ AMRAP arrived, and I’m sort of ready to start working out again. We’ll see though, I think I’ll do some light stuff at home, maybe run a mile and see how it goes. I’ve been binging on junk these past two weeks, so I’m ready for Whole30 as well. I really have to focus now on losing the weight, maybe even losing some muscle at first. Then I can focus on performance and strength. I’m not sure how I’m going to juggle this all, but I have to.

Sorry for the lack of posts lately. You know I’ve been hiding, trying to juggle multiple things at once, and I haven’t had the best eating habits. That is all going to change August 1st when I do the big reset. Till then, hope everyone enjoyed the Crossfit Games and got inspired by the athletes determination and heart!

2 Responses to “Our lil’ watermelon a.k.a “AMRAP” has arrived!”

  1. Jennifer August 1, 2011 at 9:29 am #

    congrats to you! you are a superhero!

  2. Fit Daffy August 1, 2011 at 1:54 pm #

    Congratulations!!! He’s such a cutie!!! 😀

Leave a comment