Zecher Squats & Fight Gone Bad Practice

15 Sep

I almost woke up a little late this morning. I was actually up at 230 feeding lil’ AMRAP, but I couldn’t go back to sleep till 330. When I finally did wake up, it wad 410, and I had to get moving. I pump before I leave to the gym, because it would be very uncomfortable if I didn’t.

I was actually the first one to arrive, so I practiced my wall balls. I’m definitely not hitting the 10′ target all the time. I’m not quite sure what to do except practice practice practice. The reason why I’m practicing ow is because I’ll be participating in Fight Gone Bad 6 this Saturday, and I want a good score. I think the wall balls and box jumps will slow me down. BTW, if any of my readers would like to donate some mula to the FGB6 fundraiser, click here! Its for two great charities!

Now onto to today’s workout…Zercher Squats!

We haven’t done these since the end of April! So long ago for me. I teamed up with Jackie today. It’s great working with someone because you get that extra push that is needed when working out. Also, you can watch their form and help them out or encourage them!

Here were my loads:

65#(5)-65#(5)-75#(5)-85#(3)95#(3)

My first set felt a bit heavy so I decided to do it again. I definitely feel weaker now because all the sets that I did today were pretty challenging. It should be interesting to see where I am at at the end of this cycle.

Onto the metcon:

  • 3 min, run 240m, then max wall balls(20/14#)
  • 3 min, run 240m, then max Ground to Overhead(45/30#)
  • 3 min, run 240m, then max box jumps
  • 3 min, run 240m, then max pass-thrus
  • Wall balls! Box jumps! Definitely things I need to work on for Saturday’s event. I used the 14# medicine ball and 25# dumbbell for the ground to overhead. I was barely able to touch the bottom of the 10′ target with the wall balls. So frustrating. Fatigue definitely set in too, so it’ll be worse on Saturday! The other movement I had issues with was the pass thrus. I was only able to get 9 in 90 seconds! I was just beat up…arms sore, breathing hard, tired legs!

    But I felt great after the WOD was finished.

    Result: 69 reps…Scaled.

    Leave a Reply

