My First Sous Vide Supreme Meal – GrassFed RibEye Steak

24 Oct

I got a text Friday afternoon that my Sous Vide Supreme was waiting for me at home. WOO HOO! I was debating all month to get one, and finally ordered it on Monday. When I got home, I cleared out my kitchen counter and made room for it right next to the sink. This way, I can pour water into it and dump the water easily without having to move it around too much.

On Saturday morning, I woke up at the butt crack of dawn and marinated the GrassFed RibEye Steaks that I thawed Friday night.

Here were the ingredients I used –

  • 2 GrassFed RibEye Steaks
  • 2 Garlic Cloves, sliced
  • 8 Thyme Steams
  • 2 Shallots, sliced
  • Salt and Pepper
  • I took the steaks and patted them dry with a paper towel.

    I sprinkled salt and pepper over them, and placed the garlic, thyme, and shallots on them.

    Next, I vacuum sealed the steaks and let it sit in the refrigerator for a couple of hours.

    I set the Sous Vide Supreme to 130 degress for medium rare(advice from Nom Nom Paleo, the Sous Vide Queen!)

    I let the steaks sit for 7 hours and then seared them for 2 minutes on eat side in Avocado Oil.

    I sliced into the steak, and it was perfectly soft and still soft!! The steak melted in my mouth.

    Although the Sous Vide doesn’t really save you time if you need a meal in a hurry, it does make the end product taste way better. I’ve decided to plan my protein meals in advance, and just marinate and freeze the meat. Next up is Chinese Spice Pork Belly and Duck Confit.

    Leave a Reply

