12/14/2011 – OHS and Medicine Ball Love!

14 Dec

WOW WOW WOW! Seems like whenever I do bodyweight workouts on my off days from CFPA, the next WOD Tim has in store is more bodyweight movements. I’m not complaining though because my core needs it.

First, let’s start with Overhead Squats, our strength movement for the next 3 Hump Days.

OHS: 63#(5)-73#(5)-78#(5)-83#(3)-93#(3)

Overhead squats used to be my nemesis, especially when I was trying to get strong for the NorCal Regionals in 2010. But now, I think it’s a great movement that works your entire midline. The movement doesn’t come often, so I have to take advantage of it and work hard to get a good strong number. Key tip is to fold at the hips when going down into the squat. I can’t believe I don’t have a record of my old OHS PR. I have to find it in my notebook. I know it was at 100 or a little over 100#s. This all depends on how much I can push press over my head.

Check this video of Lindsey Smith for some inspriation!

OHS 185lbs x5 from Lindsey Smith on Vimeo.

Funny that yesterday I saw a status posted by Reebok | CrossFit One, and it said “Respect the Medicine Ball People!!!!”. And guess what we used in today’s WOD? Yes, the lovely medicine ball.

For Time:

  • 50 Double Unders
  • 21 Wall Balls (20#/14#)
  • 21 Med Ball Cleans
  • 21 Med Ball Sit Ups
  • 15 Wall Balls (20#/14#)
  • 15 Med Ball Cleans
  • 15 Med Ball Sit Ups
  • 9 Wall Balls (20#/14#)
  • 9 Med Ball Cleans
  • 9 Med Ball Sit Ups
  • 50 Double Unders

  • My first worry was the med ball sit ups. I wasn’t sure I would be able to lift the 14# ball. But I tried it and got it. So, I did the WOD RX’d, but definitely did not touch the 10FT target all the time. I still can’t string together the wall balls either. Must practice more in the mornings as part of my warmup. By the time I finished the WOD, my upper lip felt like it got knocked around a few times. A little swollen because the ball kept slamming into my face.

    Respect the medicine ball people!

    Result: 13:36, Semi RX’d.

    Leave a Reply

