12/16/2011 – Max Pull Ups

16 Dec

It’s been crazy hectic since the Wednesday’s WOD. Work is busy, life is busy, and I’m lucky to be able to continue to make time and head to CFPA.

My good eats haven’t been exactly clean with some sushi rice, a couple pieces of bread at a Christmas Party, some alcohol at the Jay-Z/Kanye Watch The Throne concert, and Primal Truffles at our Five Tribe Coffee WOD/Holiday Party. šŸ˜‰ Hopefully I can make it through the weekend by eating clean. I’m going to need it, because I have lots to do!

Today we worked on Max Strict Pull Ups and Max Kipping Pull Ups. We were advised to do 3 sets of each pull up and try to do 5 at a time. For the strict pull ups, I started with the purple and red band. Then I was able to do 2 sets of 3 strict pull ups w/o assistance. I’m hopeful that next week I can do 5 strict pull ups. The kipping pull ups were pretty easy, except for the fact that my grip was slipping when I got to the 7th or 8th pull up. I should work on hand position, and maybe try to do more than 10 next week. Or, I could work on getting chest to bar pull ups.

2 Rounds For Time:

  • 22 Seesaw Press(45#/30#)
  • 400m Run
  • 22 Box Jumps
  • 400m Run
  • Tim made us think that it was just one round. He was reminded by our other coach, Graeme, that the WOD was actually 2 rounds. Ouch! I thought I was going to be able to do 30#, but nope, I couldn’t get even one up without struggling, so I stuck with the 25# dumbbells. Fitbomb and I finished the last of our box jumps together, and we started our last 400m run together. He could of sprinted the whole way through the 400m run, but he stuck with me, and at our last 50m, we sprinted to the door. Makes me miss the days when it was just us working out at the garage gym! It also made me realize that I do have a lot of energy in the WODs, I just need to dig deep and really lay it all out there. It might hurt, but it won’t hurt forever!

    Result: 13:06

    Enjoy your weekend everyone! One more week till Christmas!

    Leave a Reply

