01/23/2012 – Thrusters and Tabata

23 Jan

Today was my first day back at CFPA after missing 2 full weeks. Can you believe I missed TWO FULL WEEKS?! If you know me, you know that I hardly every miss a workout, and if I do, something is seriously wrong with me. Well, let’s just say that the New Year took me down…way down. I started New Years Eve off by being sick, and doing Murph didn’t help the situation. The kids were sick, and I got their little bug. It just switched back from a stuffy nose, to a cough, back to a stuffy nose, and so on. Right before I left, my eyes were aching really bad too. I’ve never had that happen to me before, and there was a little bump in the corner of my eye as well. I thought it was stye and would heal on its on. Somehow, while I was on vacation, my eyes got really irritated, and I ended up with Pink Eye. SIGH! It definitely was not the way I wanted to spend my vacay, but at least I wasn’t at work, right?

Anyways, I think I’m all healed now and ready to get down to business. I’ve missed two weeks into the current cycle, so I can’t expect much in regards to strength gains. Today our class worked on thrusters and here were my loads.

Thruster: 63#(5)-73#(5)-83#(3)-93#(3)-98#(F)-93#(3)

I wanted to get to 100, but didn’t quite make it there. Once I squatted with 98#, I couldn’t raise the bar over my head. Jackie told me to try again, but with 93# and that felt sold. The last time I did these, I was pregnant, and the loads were pretty much the same. As I’m typing this, my quads are burning.

WOD:

Tabata, 6 rounds

  • Ring Push Ups
  • Shuttle Run
  • Ring Rows
  • Calorie Row
  • The Ring Push Ups and Ring Rows were the hardest for me. Basically, my core muscles are weak, and I must work on them. What’s new?! Great way to come back to The Five Tribe.

    Total Reps: 150

    Leave a Reply

