01/23/2012 – Good Eats

24 Jan

Today is the day I start my nutrition challenge that will last 12 weeks. ๐Ÿ˜‰ I’m hoping to lose at least 15-20 pounds and gain some good strength.

I got out of bed at 3:45 to eat my breakfast. I must eat an hour before I start lifting if I want to see any strength gains. I have to do this because my training sessions are so early and this needs to be the biggest meal of the day for me.

4:00AM(B) – 4 egg white omelet with GrassFed ground beef, spinach, and mushrooms. 1 slice of Ezekiel Cinnamon Raisin Bread and 1/2 tablespoon of Justin’s Almond Butter.

6:00AM(S1) – SFH PWO Shake with 1 barlett pear. Sounds weird, but I haven’t had much fruit lately, so it tasted extra sweet.

10:30 – Getting a little tired.

12:10(L) – Salmon Sashimi(4) salad with some cucumbers and lemon juice. 1 gala apple.

2PM- SUPER SLEEPY!

3PM(S2) – Sous Vide Chicken Breast marinated with Fox Point Seasoning and a little bit of ghee. Paired it with 1oz of raw cashews

I went home and 3:30 because we had a crazy night ahead of us and I still had to create my sides for tonight’s dinner.

5:45PM(D)- 1 pan fried Tilapia fillet seasoned with Penzy’s northwood seasoning. I seasoned the cauliflower with tumeric, curry powder, and a pinch of salt.

20120123-202135.jpg I was suppose to finish the Kombachu drink, but it tasted too sweet for me. I think I’ll water it down next time.

Today wasn’t too hard, I’m just dead tired after shoveling the kids around town after work. Why can’t New Years fall on a weekend? Anyways, the food was good and hopefully I got the portions right. You won’t see too much variation in my meals this week, although I might switch up the type of protein I eat for lunch and dinner.

7 Responses to “01/23/2012 – Good Eats”

  1. Mary January 24, 2012 at 8:24 am #

    Would you mind describing your diet plan a little more? I have similar goals to you…

    • stle57 January 24, 2012 at 1:56 pm #

      I’m definitely eating less protein than I normally would. I used to eat maybe 2 palm sizes of protein, and now it’s down to one. Also, I’m eating 3 full meals and 2 snacks instead of just 3 really big meals. The timing of the foods is important too, especially during the day. I always forget to eat when I’m busy, but that can’t happen anymore, especially if I want to gain lean muscle mass. Having someone look after my eats will keep me in check. Hope that helps.

  2. Fit Daffy January 24, 2012 at 10:42 am #

    Salmon sashimi!!! Excuse me while I drool all over…

    Besides the kombucha being overly sweet, how do you like it? What does it taste like?

    You guys are SO awesome (and really dedicated!) for celebrating New Year’s on the actual day! My families (in-laws and dad’s side) just kept it simple by celebrating on NYE instead.

    Chuc Mung Nam Moi!

    ๐Ÿ™‚

    • stle57 January 24, 2012 at 2:00 pm #

      I don’t know how I feel about the kombucha. I drank maybe 1/4 of the bottle and was not feeling it. I couldn’t get over the carbonation, since I was expecting more of a water flavor, if that makes sense. I’m watering it down tonight and maybe even warming it up. I might even try to make it since it’s so expensive. Here’s the link on EDP if you are interested…http://everydaypaleo.com/2011/11/29/how-to-make-kombucha-by-katie-of-wellness-mama/ ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. Pam January 24, 2012 at 2:08 pm #

    Very cool Steph! Congrats on starting your big mission. I also had the exact same rxn to Kombucha but I never managed to get over it. Let me know if you do and I may try it again! Had a question – are you cutting out the egg yolks because of the cholesterol, extra fat or something else? I was curious as to how harmful they are.

    • stle57 January 24, 2012 at 2:42 pm #

      Thanks Pammy! Yolks aren’t harmful at all! They contain all the good nutrients, so if I had a choice, I would not cut them out completely. For this experiment(trying to look less flabby), my breakfast contains less fat and more protein, so no yolk. I’ll be adding it in as soon as possible though, because they are healthy for you and omelets taste way better. Hopefully in the next week or two. More info, you can read here: http://www.smart-diner.com/understanding-food/why-eggs-and-cholesterol-are-good-for-you/

      Let me know if you got more questions. ๐Ÿ™‚

  4. GiGi Eats Celebrities January 24, 2012 at 4:15 pm #

    SALMON SASHIMI!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! LOVE LOVE LOVE. Wait, could you not tell by all my !!! lol! Where did you get it? I have this amazing Japanese grocery store near me… and they actually call me when they have fresh salmon in, lol!

Leave a Reply

