02/06/2012 – Where’d my Snatch go?!

7 Feb

Ya, it’s been awhile! The last I checked, I haven’t worked on my snatch since last February! WOW! That’s a really long time. Almost a whole year ago! Definitely no progress since then! My goal is to try to get to the 100 club with the snatch, but that just means I need to devote more time to practicing these lifts. Here’s how I did it today.

Snatch: 33#(5)-45#(5)-53#(5)-63#(3)-68#(3)-63#(3)

At first, my goal was to get to 73# for the last set. I probably could of done it, but definitely not with good form. That is why I took some weight off on the last set. Sometimes, my hips would turn over perfectly, and sometimes, my hips wouldn’t turn over and I was muscling the bar up. I know I’m doing it all wrong, and have no control when my feet spread wide, and the landing is all screwed. I need lots and lots of practice!

Today’s WOD contained two of the following that I did not like, wall balls and burpees!

For Time:

  • 21 Kettlebell Swings(24kg/16kg)
  • 21 Burpees
  • 21 Wall Balls(20#/14#)
  • 15 Kettlebell Swings(24kg/16kg)
  • 15 Burpees
  • 15 Wall Balls(20#/14#)
  • 9 Kettlebell Swings(24kg/16kg)
  • 9 Burpees
  • 9 Wall Balls(20#/14#)
  • The one thing I took away from this was that I was able to do the swings without putting the bell down. Other than that, I could not hit the 10′ target for the wall balls all the time. Some of the reps would hit, the others did not make it to the middle of the target, just the bottom of it. So, I will not count this workout as RX’d.

    Result: 9:03

    Terminator finished at 6 something, and passed me on my second round. That guy is a BEAST!

    Leave a Reply

