02/22/2012 – Good Eats

23 Feb

Here’s how I fueled my Wednesday. First things first, got up early to eat breakfast
4:00AM(B) – You’ve seen this one before. An egg omelet made with 5 egg whites and 1 egg. 1 slice of Ezekiel bread plus 1/2 tblsp of Justin’s Classic Almond Butter.

6:05AM(S1) – After our WOD, I had my SFH PWO Whey Protein + 1 tblsp of Flax Seed. Then I enjoyed 1/2 cup of coffee at our CoffeeWOD.

10:15AM(S2) – My snack was a 4oz sweet potato plus 3oz of GrassFed Ground Beef. Delish!

1:50PM(L) – I was starving when it finally came time to eat. I would have eaten earlier, but I got sucked into meetings. My lunch was a salad with 4oz of chicken breast and 4oz of sweet potato.

3:45PM(S3) – Since I didn’t try to make any protein pancakes last night, I didn’t have a mid afternoon snack. Plus I was going to have a late dinner, so I needed to eat something. All I had were cashews at my desk, so cashews were going to go in my mouth. 1 oz of them. πŸ˜‰

When I got home, I had to multi task like none other. I played with the kids, but Lil’ AMRAP down for a nap. Then I enlisted Lil’ Munchkin’ to help me bake a Paleo Pumpkin Gingerbread Cake for my company’s Bake Off that is happening tomorrow. It’s an event that is part of Engineering week. How awesome is that?! Anyways, there is a category for normal baked goods and a category for “special needs”. I guess I’m in the special needs category, why not right?! I can’t even eat any of the stuff, but why not let people try grain free/gluten free desserts made with all real/high quality ingredients! I didn’t have time to make the frosting, and honestly I don’t think the cake needs it. My hubby was the taste tester and he loved it. πŸ™‚

Once I got that in the oven, I had to get hubby’s dinner ready. Two days ago, I was prepping some pork shoulder steak that I got from Marin Sun Farms. At least that is what I think it was. Anyways, I used R and Nom Nom Paleo carnitas recipe looked delish, and I wanted to try it. So the pork was sitting in the SousVide Supreme for 24 hours already. I took it and quickly pan-fried them in bacon grease. Smelled so good.

Hubby said it was a bit too salty. Maybe I brined it with too much salt. But he devoured it.

Once hubby got home, I quickly left to meet with one of my BFFs for dinner. We met at Pasta Pomodora, which had a good selection of healthy eats. I ordered the salmon salad and it came with lots of veggies. I also ordered a side of broccoli that was sauteed in garlic, hot peppers, and olive oil.

Nothing tops the day like good conversations over good eats. Enjoy!

2 Responses to “02/22/2012 – Good Eats”

  1. savor the sweet life February 23, 2012 at 9:36 am #

    I was looking at almond butters in the store yesterday and saw Justin’s…how do you like it? I was considering buying it on amazon as well.

    • stle57 February 23, 2012 at 9:37 am #

      I like it! It’s on the expensive side, but it taste great and really smooth.

Leave a Reply

