02/25/2012 – CrossFit Games Open WOD 12.1

26 Feb

I signed up for the CrossFit Games Open this year because I love being part of the CrossFit community. I love the competition with others, the competition with myself, but most of all, being able to get together with my box and just have a good time doing what we love.

Today was the first weekend where we spent 7 minutes of burpee hell together. Everyone suffered through the 7 minutes, fought through the burn, and ended up being proud of their score. I paired up with Carmela and she is freakin’ awesome! I rarely see here at CFPA because we go to different classes, so it’s great to see her when we there are events like this.

Truthfully, there was a lot of strategy going on in my head. People had told me to do 8 burpees then stop for 10 seconds. Others told me to go all out. Others said to just pace yourself and keep moving. I watched Carl P’s breakdown of the WOD and he had some great tips that I practiced on Thursday night. I definitely have to work on the hip snap, but I think this video helped me tremendously. Every time I landed on my feet, they were hip width apart, not the wide ass stance that I normally do. I didn’t look at the target at all, and didn’t rest too much. I wanted to keep moving, and wish I hadn’t stopped at all to take my breathe. I just wished I had more time to practice the skill. I could live with 81. I know if I did it again, I’d get more. 🙂 Too bad I didn’t have a chance to do it again. Nonetheless, I’m happy and so proud of everyone else!

WOD 12.1 in the books.

Leave a Reply

