April’s Best Your Stress Month

1 Apr

Yesterday, Chris Kresser, one of Paleo’s leading “know-it all’s”, suggested everyone use the month of April to relieve stress. The goal is to find a way to relax and de-stress from all the craziness that goes on in your world. Here is what I am going to do to relieve the stress in my life.

  • Stop using my phone, computer, and iPad, 1 hour before going to bed, and pick up a real book to read.
  • Sign up for a Yoga class, and go at least once a week
  • I need to step away from my computer, from social media, my phone, EVERYTHING!

    I am completely surrounded by hardware everywhere: work, home, going out…EVERYWHERE. It’s too much. So I want to shut it down, and pay more attention to my kids, more to my family, and more attention to myself. I think this little step will help in that process. My reading books have been stacking up. I haven’t finished the Steve Jobs autobiography, and I recently ordered two new books, The Happiness Project and The Hunger Games, which I haven’t even put a dent in. I think replacing electronics with reading is a great way to de-stress from a busy day at work, and will help me physically and mentally. I actually thought about taking a whole Sunday off from electronics instead, but I think that’s a little tough. I already failed this morning. πŸ˜‰ So baby steps that are do-able is that right way to go for me.

    Next thing I’ll do is yoga! I’ve been thinking about going back to Bikram Yoga for awhile now.

    I did Bikram Yoga in 2008 for 8 months, and I loved it. I want to go back once a week, on Thursdays during lunch. I think this will help me relax during the middle of the workday, and also help with my mobility for CrossFit.

    I think Chris’s article came at a great time for me. I’ve been trying to take too much on at one time, and not paying attention to the important things in life. Want to join me?! Find something that will help you be stress free for the month of April. I’m sure in the end, you’ll thank yourself. πŸ™‚

    One Response to “April’s Best Your Stress Month”

    Trackbacks/Pingbacks

    1. 04/03/2012 – Good Eats and Active Recovery Day « Ramblings of a Crossfit Mom - April 4, 2012

      […] – I’m going to yoga today at work, so I’m quickly scarfed down my 4oz lean ground turkey patty with a nuked yam. I seasoned the […]

    Leave a Reply

