04/04/2012 – Good Eats

5 Apr

I woke up ready to scarf down my breakfast!

4:00AM(B) – 6 egg white omelet with 1/2 tblsp of Justin’s Almond Butter and a slice of Ezekiel Bread.

6:00AM(S1) – SFH PWO Whey Protein with 1 tblsp of ground organic flaxseed.

9:30AM(S2) – Nuked yam with 4oz lean ground turkey patty. I seasoned the turkey with Penzey’s Sunny Paris Seasoning.

12:00PM(L) – A coworker and I went to Dish Dash for lunch. I got the greek salad with chicken. Our order took forever to come out, and they messed up drenching my salad with lemon vinegarette dressing. I was going to ask them to bring it back, but we waited so long already, I didn’t want to wait anymore. I scarfed it down, and unfortunately right when I got to the car, my tummy started to hurt. You know, pressure down there. Uh oh, I told my coworker it had to be the dressing. WTF?!?! Ya, let’s just say it wasn’t pretty. T-M-I!

I left work early to go home and make some dinner for the hubby and kids. I’m on a mission to get my 2YO to eat more “normal” food, meaning no more mashed/grinded up food. We still mash up his lunch and dinner so he would eat faster and get veggies in. I think I need to let loose a bit, and just let him eat if he wants. So what did I make for him?! I decided on two types of protein, in case he didn’t like one, he could eat the other. First was a piece of GrassFed New York Steak from Marin Sun Farms. I put that in the SousVide Supreme at 134 degrees for 1.5 hours. Of course he wouldn’t eat the whole piece, maybe half. I’ll save what he doesn’t eat for the next day. It LOOKED TASTY!

The other piece of protein I made was from Nom Nom Paleo’s iPAD app, Crispy Smashed Chicken! It was simple, only 5 ingredients, and I could prep it within 10 minutes. I got the coconut flour, salt, pepper, and garlic powder out and mixed it together. I smashed the chicken breast down and covered it with the flour mixture. I’m not too fond of coconut flour, but I thought I would give it a try. Last time I used coconut flour, my tummy was not happy. I know you are tired of hearing about my tummy issues. 🙂 Anyways, let’s just say that the chicken looked delicious. Hubby enjoyed it, Lil’ Munchkin’ enjoyed it, and I tried a small piece and loved it. I’m also glad it didn’t have the lingering taste of coconut in my mouth, because I don’t really like that taste unless it’s coconut curry.

I know, I’m lucky to be able to preview the app beforehand. It’s coming out this month ya’ll! Here’s my little collage of the Crispy Smashed Chicken…

I roasted some carrots and sweet potatoes for lil’ munchkin’ because I know he loves “fries”. He scarfed down both the steak, chicken, and fries. Now, all I need to do is get him to eat his broccoli and cauliflower(without mashing it), and I’ll be a happy Mom. 🙂

Here was my dinner plate:
5:30PM(D) – My dish included a small piece of chicken, salmon, roasted asparagus, and braised kale! Yummy to my tummy!

Leave a Reply

