04/04/2012 – Medicine Ball Love

5 Apr

I woke up ready to tackle whatever was in store for us today at CrossFit Palo Alto. Looks like we’ll be working on our Pull ups every Wednesday for the next 3 weeks. YAY!

These are strict pull ups and the focus is to remember to pull your lats down and engage the core. I’m happy to say that I felt pretty strong with the pull ups. Here were my loads:

Pull Ups: 5(BW) – 5(BW+5#) – 3(BW+8#) – 3(BW+10#) – 3(BW+10#)

For the last two sets, the last rep with 10# weight was hard, and I barely made it over the bar. It felt good though. Tim also had us working on our push ups during our rest periods. I thought that was fun, because I always need help with my push ups. We were suppose to do variations of them, trying to place our hands at different angles, or even using plates as added height. It was fun, and kept me moving. Good add on to the strength portion!

Our metcon today had us touching the medicine ball in all sorts of ways.

  • 6 Minute AMRAP:
  • 16 Med-ball Snatches(20/14)
  • 16 Med-ball V-ups
  • 1 Minute Rest

  • 6 Minute AMRAP:
  • 16 Wall Balls(20/14)
  • 16 Med-ball Twists
  • The snatches were simple, but the V-ups were hard! I could not coordinate and have a fluid motion, so it took me awhile. I think I completed 2 rounds, 16 snatches, and 6 V-ups within the 6 minutes.

    And of course, wall balls in the next 6 minutes. They felt good, but still struggling to string a good number together. When I get exhausted, I can only do 2 or 3 at a time. SIGH. The twists were hard too, because the difficulty was in keeping the feet off the ground. Engage the CORE!!

    Good workout though. Fun times with The Five Tribe.

    Result: 5 Rounds + 32 Reps

    Leave a Reply

