04/08/2012 – Easter Good Eats

9 Apr

Happy Easter everyone! I got up early this morning and did my weigh in! Lost a healthy 1.2 pounds. YAY! I told my nutrition coach and she said I got a “free dinner” tonight. Hmm…free dinner, like 3 course meal?! You know that’s how I’m going to do it! I went back and forth wondering if I wanted a big steak or not. Keep it clean or NOT. Read on and see…

I decided to make some baked ham and eggs for hubby and Lil’ Munchkin’. It was on my “Must Try Recipes” on pinterest, and I thought it was the coolest idea ever! Super easy, and done in minutes.

Hubby like it. It looked super yummy!

By 8:00AM, I had my 6 egg white omelet with 1 slice of Ezekiel bread and 1/2 tblsp of Justin’s Almond Butter. After I scarfed down my breakfast, I was still hungry. BUT, I gotta remember my free dinner. 🙂

I took Lil’ Munchkin’ to Trader Joe’s and the Campbell Farmer’s Market to pick up some goodies. At TJ’s, I got my chicken breast, ground lean turkey, and milk for the babies. At the farmer’s market, I picked up my Wild Atlantic Salmon and Farmhouse Culture Sauekraut. This was the first time that I didn’t buy much at the farmer’s market, but I still spent quite a lot. LOL. Damn fish is pricey!

I stopped by my parents house to visit for a bit. By the time I got home(11:00AM), I quickly chowed down on my snack. Chicken jerky with some roasted sweet potatoes.

All afternoon while prepping food for the week, I was trying to figure out what I wanted to cheat on. My cousin came over to pick up his cookies and said I needed to go all out.

All out on what though?! I put out a grassed tomahawk rib-eye steak, but it wouldn’t thaw in time to get into the SousVide Supreme. It had to soak for 8 hours. I really wanted to try the steak too. So, I finally made a decision that we would go out to dinner, after the kids did their Easter egg hunt. I scarfed down my Chicken salad while feeding Lil’ Munchkin’ lunch.

We went to my BFF’s house to do the Easter egg hunt. It was cute to see Lil’ Munchkin’ follow my friend’s daughter around. Here’s a couple pics…


This is where I unleashed the sugar demon. First, I started with some Cadbury Mini Eggs. Maybe 15 eggs. ICK!!! Super sweet! I couldn’t stop popping them in my mouth. I had to wash it down with water to get the sugar taste out.

We left my friend’s house to meet up with my cousin at The Counter. Since he was trying to get me to go all out on the cheat, he wanted to be there to witness it. They were hosting a National Grilled Cheese Month, and their sandwich for the week sounded really really good. It was called “The Western”: Tillamook Chedder, American Cheese, Black Forest Ham, Fried Onion Strings, and Sweet BBQ Sauce. I ordered the sandwich without the onion rings, and didn’t really need the sauce. Since I was at a burger joint I wanted red meat too. I knew I would get sick of the cheese real fast. I decided to order off the kids menu and get the mini cheeseburgers. LOL. Yes, I cheeped out and used my kid as an excuse to order from the Kids Menu. Lil’ Munchkin didn’t want any of it, all he wanted were the fries. Here’s what I scarfed down:

YES, I ate all of it. I couldn’t breathe. So much for enjoying and chewing my food. The bread on the grilled cheese was grilled to perfection. The mini cheeseburgers were delicious because they used King’s Hawaiian bread. The fries…YUMMY! But, I didn’t stop there. I went home and chowed down on some cookies and milk.

I went away all weekend not touching the cookies, and I ended up eating maybe 6 or 7. BAD I know. My tummy is not going to like me tomorrow, but it was worth it. I just gotta remember to slow down, and enjoy it. Now, let me feel guilty for 5 minutes and then I’m moving on.

Happy Easter!

One Response to “04/08/2012 – Easter Good Eats”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. 04/10/2012 – Good Eats « Ramblings of a Crossfit Mom - April 11, 2012

    […] refreshed with a whole bunch of energy. Yesterday, my joints felt achy all day because of my “free meal” on Sunday. I felt so good, I went on a run with my coworker and we did the 5.5 mile route. That’s the […]

Leave a Reply

