04/11/2012 – Wednesday’s Workout

11 Apr

I woke up ready to get to work at CFPA. I was expecting us to do a long WOD, but we worked on Pull ups today. Guess the long WOD will be on Friday…

Pull Ups: BW#(5) – BW+6#(3) – BW+12#(3) – BW+15#(1) – BW+20#(1)

Everything felt really good. Once I got to the 20# dumbbell, it was a challenge, but I was able to get over the bar. Yes, I’m a happy camper. Next time, I’ll be warming up with BW, and then starting the 5 reps with BW+6. In between each pull up set, we all practiced our push ups. Good stuff!

Here’s our WOD:

For Time:

  • 21 Box Jumps(24″/20″)
  • 21 Kettlebell SHDP(32kg/24kg)
  • 21 Kettlebell Swing-Catch-Squat
  • 15 Box Jumps(24″/20″)
  • 15 Kettlebell SHDP(32kg/24kg)
  • 15 Kettlebell Swing-Catch-Squat
  • 9 Box Jumps(24″/20″)
  • 9 Kettlebell SHDP(32kg/24kg)
  • 9 Kettlebell Swing-Catch-Squat
  • I decided to go with the 20kg bell because I wasn’t sure what the Kettlebell Swing-Catch-Squat was all about. When Tim demonstrated it, the first thing I thought was that I was going to get smacked by the bell as I swung it towards my body. My coordination is not that great, so I was being cautious. Turns out the 20kg bell was good enough. The swing-catch-squat means to swing the kettlebell around and catch it, so that the handle is facing away from your chest. Once you’ve caught the kettlebell, you squat like a goblet squat. I practiced a few and sort of had a handle on it. I’m loving all the new movements that we are seeing at CFPA. Fun and interesting stuff!

    Result: 8:43 w/ 20kg bell

    Side workout: I went downstairs around 1:30 to do an uphill walk for 25 minutes. I was starving afterwards!!

    One Response to “04/11/2012 – Wednesday’s Workout”

    1. Rebecca April 12, 2012 at 5:32 pm #

      These KB SCSs were crazy! At first totally awkward as I kept somehow catching it by the handle up-side-down going into the squat (awkward) but then half-way thru the 21 it clicked. So much fun!
      Holy cow you totally destrominated (new favorite word: destroy+dominated) those pullups. Great job!

    Leave a Reply

