04/15/2012 – Good Eats(Leangains Experiment)

16 Apr

Today’s the first day of my LeanGains experiment. I’ll try this out for a couple weeks and see how it goes.  For my training day macros, I’m trying to hit 180 grams of carbs and 124 grams of protein. For my rest day macros, I still have to hit the same amount of protein, and then carbs should be low, and fat would be moderately high.

For training days, the protein I plan on eating is anything lean! Fish, chicken, beef, anything that has close to 0 fat in it. My high carb sources will be from Ezekiel bread, sweet potatoes, and fruit. I don’t want to over consume on fruit, because sugar is sugar, so I might sub that out with chestnuts. I thought about dropping the Ezekiel bread, because I wanted to stay as “Paleo” as possible, but it’s freakin’ hard to consume 180g of carbs in one day. I might try to switch it up with more sweet potatoes or white potatoes.

Sorry to bore you about my macro nutrient issues. LOL. Onto my sunny Sunday!

I woke up early, did 100 Kettlebell Swings, and then weighed in. Didn’t gain any from last week, but didn’t lose any either. I’m just happy I didn’t gain! Success!

I spent the day food shopping, fasting, cooking, going out, and cooking some more. I swear I was standing in the kitchen ALL FREAKIN’ day! It’s hard to cook different meals, especially since there are high and low carb days. It would be easier if I kept the protein the same for all days, but I want variety. Maybe next week, I’ll be a bit smarter in planning my meals.

Sunday was a good day to start the Leangains experiment because I knew I would be busy and occupied while going to the Mountain View Farmer’s Market, visiting my parents, and meal prepping. I ended up fasting all the way until 2:00PM(unintentionally) when we got to The Counter at Santana Row. I had a 2/3 beef burger with mixed organic greens, fried egg, roasted peppers, pickles, and sautéed mushrooms. It was so good.

It took a lot of willpower to NOT eat the fries. Lil’ Munchkin’s grilled cheese looked delicious too, but I resisted. The thought of a having a real cheat day crossed my mind as well, but I remember my nutrition coach telling me that I’d feel better if I earned it. 😉

After we left Santa Row, I went back into the kitchen and cooked some more. It took forever! I made two different breakfasts and two different lunches for the week. I made Nom Nom Paleo’s Big-O burgers, which you can find on their soon to be released app. I also made Paleo-Project’s Chicken Salad, and Melissa J’s Best Chicken recipe, which you can find in her Well Fed. Ya, that chicken was pretty damn tasty. I didn’t take any pictures of the food because I just wanted to finish and clean up the kitchen!

By 6:30PM, I was finally able to sit down and eat while feeding the kiddies. Hubby and I chowed down on Nom Nom Paleo’s Slow Cooker Chicken and Gravy, but I put it in the pressure cooker. Took 25 minutes. Yummy!

Leangains day #1 a success in my book. I think I stayed within calorie intake, and was close to my macros. Hopefully tomorrow is the same. It’s high carb day tomorrow, so we’ll see how lethargic I get from all the carbs that I need to eat. Have a great day people! Stay fit and focused. 🙂

Leave a Reply

