04/16/2012 – Good Eats

17 Apr

When training fasted, you are suppose to take BCAA supplements before and after your workout. Martin B. explains the early morning fasted training protocol here.

I sipped on approximately 30g of Xtend BCAA up until my fast ended. It was 10g before the workout, 10g an hour after, and then another 10g an hour later.

Today is training macro day, and I broke my fast at 10.15AM. That was a 15hr fast. Martin suggest women start off with a 14hr fast with 10hr eating window. I might try for 16hrs on Wednesday. I didn’t feel a dip in energy until after I gobbled down my 1st meal. Too many carbs all at once, and I haven’t had fruit in months, so I think that banana did me in. I will probably eliminate fruit on Wednesday and try to find another carb source. I only ate half a slice of the Ezekiel bread too.

2:00PM – I gobbled down a Cranberry Chicken Salad with the other half of my Ezekiel bread and 1 cup of strawberries.


A cup of strawberries is a lot, approximately 300g! I ended up not eating all of it.

My last meal of the day was around 6. I roasted up some brussel sprouts, broccoli, and Kabocha Squash. I sous vided a 6oz flounder fillet as well. Unfortunately, I should of stopped there, but I ended up nibbling on 3 lemon pepper wings from WingStop. BLEH, our friend brought it over for the hockey game.

That’s all folks. Pretty freakin’ simple, sort of. I keep looking at my macros and trying to adjust them with foods I like to eat. I just need to stop and stick to the plan. This is why a nutrition coach is so valuable. They do all the hard work, you just implement and trust them.

2 Responses to “04/16/2012 – Good Eats”

  1. Mary Spotts April 18, 2012 at 7:25 am #

    How did you choose the brand of BCAAs? Was it recommended? I never know how to choose supplements…

Leave a Reply

