04/18/2012 – Wednesday’s Workout plus Back Squat RPT

18 Apr

Today was long metcon day. It was my first time going into a long WOD fasted, so I drank my BCAAs beforehand. The class was pretty full today, and we were all ready to get after it.

3 Rounds For Time

  • 400m Run
  • 21 Push Jerks(95#/65#)
  • 500m Row
  • 12 Handstand Push Ups
  • Because I started with the row, I mis-read the WOD and thought we had to do 21 HSPUs. Boy am I dyslexic. I got onto the jet pack and started to crank out 21 HSPUs. I stopped multiple times, and as I was almost half way through, Fitbomb started to run out the door. Actually, everyone had left to do the run but me. I was wondering what happened and why I broke down so fast. After I was done with my 21 HSPUs, I looked at the board. Doh! I was only suppose to do 12! Duh Steph…wake up! Everything else felt okay. I should of kept my row average above 2:15, but it definitely slipped down to 2:20-2:30 range at times. Push jerks were difficult because everything else was difficult. I finished though, and that always feels good.

    Result: 23:21, used 65# and blue jet pack.

    Since today was high carb day, I went to my work gym to bust out a quick Back Squat set. I quickly warmed my way up to 95#, then I started the Reverse Pyramid Training(RPT) rep scheme.

    Back Squat: 115#(8) – 105#(10) – 100#(12)

    I guess I could of started with 125#, but I’m new to this, so I don’t want to overdo it. Between each set, I rested for 2-3 minutes. Tomorrow is active rest day. I’m going to walk in the morning. I want to do Pilates, but I doubt my schedule will allow for it tomorrow.

    Hope everyone had an active day! Good night!

    Leave a Reply

