04/26/2012 – Pull Ups, Christine, and Bench Press

26 Apr

Another good day at CrossFit Palo Alto. The Five Tribe is dwindling a bit. We had about 8 people show up to class today. Where is everyone?!?!

Today we worked on pull ups for the last time in this cycle. Here were my loads:

Pull Ups: BW(5) – BW+12#(3) – BW+15#(3) – BW+20#(1) – BW+25#(1)

I should of made a bigger jump with the dumbbell, but on the 15#x3 I felt a bit weak. Nonetheless, 25# felt good. I wanted to do 30#, but ran out of time. You kidding me, I saw our WOD on the whiteboard and decided to save my energy. LOL

Last time we did Christine was in 2010! So long ago! I got 14:01 but never wrote down the weight that I used.

Christine, 3RFT:

  • 500m Row
  • 12 Deadlifts(BW-113#)
  • 21 Box Jumps
  • This WOD looks easy on paper, but once you step off of the rower and start deadlifting, you sure feel those hammies. Then onto box jumps?! No rapid fire for me. For the rower, I noticed that if I hold the lever at my chest for a full second, I’ll keep the same average without jumping all over the place. I rowed at consistent 2:15 average on my 3rd round, and I actually counted in my head “1 sec”. Of course, the second round of rowing was the worse. I was all over the place, and of course not fast enough. Nonetheless, I was able to do the workout in under 15 minutes.

    Result: 12:56 RX’d

    Once I got to work, I quickly did my bench press. Bench press is usually for Fridays, but I plan on doing a long run(5.5 miles) tomorrow, so I don’t want my legs to be too tired. I warmed up with dumb bell bench presses at 40#, 50#, 60#. I used the dumbbell bench press at first because my coworker was using the squat rack. Once he finished, I was ready to get onto the bar and rip out my sets RPT style.

    85#(6) – 75#(10) – 65#(14)

    There’s a definite improvement from last week. I went to failure with the 85#, and felt my back coming off the bench a bit. I don’t think that’s a good thing.

    Anyways, good workouts all around. Hope you are doing something active today! Get out and enjoy the sun while you can.

    One Response to “04/26/2012 – Pull Ups, Christine, and Bench Press”

    1. Rebecca April 27, 2012 at 7:23 pm #

      Awesome job! The second round on the rower was the absolute worst for me too, BLAH.

    Leave a Reply

