05/02/2012 – Deadlifts

3 May

Yup, we did deadlifts today. I couldn’t think of anything creative for the title. My plan was to do deadlifts once I got to work, but now I don’t have to. YAY for saving time. šŸ™‚

Here were my loads…

Deadlifts: 133#(5)-163#(5)-183#(5)-193#(3)-198#(3)-203#(3)

Goal is to get to 300# by the end of the year. The only way I can do that is if my warmup sets start in the mid to high hundreds. Last week, I did 195# for 5 reps, so I knew I had to go a bit heavier this week. I have to remember not to compromise my form in the process. Must engage the CORE!! I was pretty happy with these sets, and didn’t feel as though I was struggle too much with the 203# rep. Form probably wasn’t perfect, but it still felt good. Forward progress!

10->1 of the following:

  • Chest to Bar Pull Ups
  • Games Push Ups
  • Result: 5:53 RX’d

    Pretty simple WOD. Sure wasn’t easy though. Ensuring that your chest hits the bar every time is tricky. I got through the first round unbroken, but jumped off at rep number 7 for the second round.

    Once I got to work, I quickly did some chin ups. I warmed up with a band. Then I held a 5# dumbbell and only got 3 chinups. I blame it on the workout earlier. Then I did 6 bodyweight chinups, and 10 assisted. I’ll work on these for the next 3 weeks and see where I’m at.

    I love good workout days. šŸ™‚

    Leave a Reply

