05/04/2012 – Gymnastics Day at CFPA

6 May

Today was definitely a different kind of day at CrossFit Palo Alto. We worked on our gymnastics, and that meant that we got to tumble, skin the cat, and handstand hold. I’ve never been good at gymnastic movements, especially all the bodyweight stuff. And to tell you the truth, when it was time to tumble, I felt a little awkward and thought I might break my neck. Once I stopped thinking too hard, all the movements started to get fun. My goal for this cycle is to be able to get into a handstand just by swaying. I tent to brace myself before I get into a handstand, afraid I’m going to hit the wall. So, I want to be able to get into a handstand by just swaying into the position, and then holding the position so my feet don’t touch the wall.

Onto our simple yet tough WOD:

8 Minute AMRAP:

  • 1 Kettlebell Swing(2pood/1.5pood)
  • 1 Thruster(95#/65#)
  • 2 Kettlebell Swing
  • 2 Thruster(95#/65#)
  • 3 Kettlebell Swing
  • 3 Thruster(95#/65#)
  • Keep going till the 8 minutes are up
  • Just by looking at this, I knew it was going to be a tough one. Of course the first 4 or 5 rounds were pretty easy. I wasn’t rushing through the rounds either. I took my time before picking up the kettlebell at each round because it was freakin’ heavy. My form wasn’t great with the 24kg bell, but I did it anyways.

    Result: 8th Round + 10 reps. RX’d

    I had a busy day at work, but I wanted to get some lifting in. I did back squats and reverse lunges(30# dumbbell). I did the same weights at last week, just more reps at each weight.

    No good eats post for today because I don’t want to talk about what I ate. It wasn’t Paleo, and let’s just say it was a long time coming. I’m over it.

    Leave a Reply

