Went on a Hack-cation

7 Jun

I haven’t been blogging much because I went on a hack-cation, not sure if anyone even noticed. 😉

What’s a hack-cation you ask? Well let’s see if I can break it down. A vacation is when you take time off from doing what you normally do in your everyday lift to go somewhere. Hawaii, Caribbean, Europe, you name it, you are there. That’s definitely not what I did. Sissy went to St. Maarten though. So jealous. A stay-cation is when you take time off from work to just stay at home. I didn’t do that either. Wish I could of stayed home and spent more time with the kids, but I didn’t. Sue me now. Bad mom, I know. So why else would I want to “waste” PTO? Well, I had this idea to make an app, and I wanted to get a good start on it. The only way for me to do that is to be able to wake up and focus on it without a million other things trying to get my attention. Just plain focus on learning and “hacking”(hacking==developing) code. I think hacking is the new hipster term. Yes, I’m a 31 yr old mom with 2 kids, trying to be hip. LOL, not really.

My “office” during Hack-cation

Since I went on a hack-cation, I went on a “diet break” as well. No measuring, tracking, etc. Just did whatever I wanted. If I wanted to eat a paleo krunch bar, I did. If I wanted to eat some cashews, I did. If I wanted to kill half a loaf of PaleOmg’s Banana Bread, I DID!

If I wanted to have a piece of bread…I DID! No food plan, no stressing out. My digestive system is working on overload. I’m trying not to care right now. I’ll be back at it soon. So far, it’s been 4 or 5 days. I feel a bit fluffy, but oh well. I do plan on getting back to the goal, which is leaning out and getting strong, and I have a new nutrition coach lined up. I’m pretty excited. 🙂 Anyways, here are some pics of the eats I’ve been eating.

Lots of coffee with heavy cream and light SUGAR

Steak Salad from Steak Out in Mountain View

Halibut from Yardhouse

Ethiopian Food at Cafe Rehobooth

And those pics are the healthy eats. I’ve definitely had unhealthy eats too. I couldn’t take a picture of any of it because I scarfed it down too fast. Lots of Hawaiian bread, that I bought for Lil’ Munchkin’. Lots of dark chocolate. A crumble blueberry muffin. I had to look long and hard for these cheats because my pantry had nothing to snack on! Nothing worthwhile that is. Well, besides the Hawaiian Bread. And last night..I had a Ice Mint Mojito from Philz with 2 cookies. Be jealous. And now, my tummy is screaming at me. Ya, you might not be jealous about that. 🙂 Go hard or go home, right?!

I’ll be back at the daily hustle sometime next week.

2 Responses to “Went on a Hack-cation”

  1. M June 9, 2012 at 1:45 am #

    Good luck with your hackcation! When you get back are you going to post about your overall LeanGains results? It’d be really interesting to hear how it worked out for you!

    • stle57 June 11, 2012 at 11:17 am #

      Hi M! Actually, since I’m starting with a new nutrition coach today, she said that we should stop doing Leangains for now. If it’s something I want to explore later, we can. I liked it, but I wasn’t consistent enough to see results. The first week or two were good, until I started to get hungrier and do more work, which is totally opposite of what Leangains is about.

Leave a Reply

